Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I found it to have a bit too much coating, so I ended up adding about another cup of cheerios. I also followed what another review said and boiled the sugars for a little longer to promote hardening at room temp. Overall a good recipe, just needed some tweaks for us. I think I could get away with adding even more cereal next time, as some of the coating still went to the bottom. Maybe a few rice crispies to soak up some extra and fill in the cracks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I WAS sure I was not going to be the "game day" hero today but I made these for the pre game party.....HAHA!! I AM THE WOMAN .....everyone loved them, and you can tweak this bar to anyway you want too. GREAT WAY to use up the bottom of the bag no one wants. LOVED THEM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luverne, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong, but these turned to rocks once they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious and very simple and fast to make. We have a peanut allergy, so I left out the peanut butter. It turned out beautifully, even so! A healthier change from the marshmallow based recipes. (Nothing artificial here!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yummy...it turned out a bit too sweet for me, too sweet for a to-go breakfast bar. I'm gonna eat this batch for dessert. Next time I'm gonna cut out some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leilani

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lihue, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent! I used Chocolate Cheerios and added chocolate chips and this turned out fantastic. I also made the recipe with plain cereal. Both went over well with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I used corn syrup instead of honey and chex instead of cheerios. I added a touch of vanilla too but would recommend adding a dash of salt if you aren't using salted peanuts because I think you'd want something to balance out the sweetness. I smooshed them down into the pan with a spoon sprayed with Pam to really compress them so they'd stay in bar form and they did perfectly. Will definitely make again but probably improvise more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These are good, but a bit too sweet. I would cut back on the honey the next time I make them. I boiled the mixture for a couple of minutes and that seemed to help the bars stick together instead of crumble apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made these in preparation for hurricane Irene for the kids to have a yummy snack in case the power went out -- I've made these every weekend since! The kids adore them, and it's so easy and quick to make. I love that it uses peanut butter (I've tried it with creamy and crunchy and they both work great) and Cheerios. It seems like we always have Cheerios to use up, and this would work great for the stale ones sitting in the pantry, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States