Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe, only thing was i had to make a double batch for a 13x9 inch pan. the taste is great. even my sister who hates cheerios liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The flavor is pretty yummy, and put in individual servings in snack-sized zipper bags, they're a hit with the soccer team. I can't get them into bars to save my soul, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is very good. I used rolled oats and some Kashi Crunch cereal. I did what other reviewers suggested, I boiled the honey and sugar (I used Sucanat w/Honey) for a full minute. I also used an 8x8 pan. I added choc. chips, but they melted. So I made a second batch, because the first was so good and didn't make much, and I layered in the choc. chips. I put half the mixture in the pan, added the choc. chips, then put the rest of the mixture on top. I only let it cool in the pan for a few minutes before I flipped the pan onto wax paper and let it fall out of the pan. I waited a few more mintues for it to cool and then cut it into bars while it was still warm. I also used Smucker's Natural Peanut Butter in this. With all the more healthy substitions, this was still very good. I will definitely be making this again and often. This reminds of the Peanut Butter Chews I ate as a kid and have been wanting to adapt that recipe to make it heathier. Not sure I need to now since this recipe is so good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These were not at all edible. The honey/sugar base made the bars far too hard. What little I was able to break off and eat made my teeth feel like they were rotting inside my mouth. Thanks for the recipe, but no thanks. Will definitely NOT make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These are fantastic. I have made them for my family several times now. To get them to form into bars I use my hands (if the mixture is too hot just use a piece of plastic wrap wadded up in your hand)and press it into the pan tightly. Works every time! My husband prefers them a little less chewy so I just add 1/4-1/2 cups more oats for a firmer texture and have never had a problem making into bars...even before I added the extra oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
First of all, this tatses very good!! I followed directions as posted and couldn't for the life of me get it to form into bars. (I ate mine with a fork.) Also, the amount it made didn't fill the 9x13 pan, so I had to move everything to one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These were one of my favorites when I was a kid, and I was happy to find a recipe that tastes exactly the same! Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Pretty good! I simmered the sugar/honey mixture for a minute or so to make sure it became solid enough to hold the bars together. I also added some granola to the cereal. A great portable breakfast-very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Changed the recipe up just a little: Instead of all three cups of oats, I used 1 cup each of oats, puffed brown rice, puffed red wheat. I added 1/3 C. of wheat germ and 1/3 C. milled flax seeds. I used 1/2 C. sliced almonds and used natural peanut butter. Using the cereals and "binders" (flax & wheat germ) helped the bars really stick together! I also cooked the sugar/honey for about 4 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Excellent! Perfect for the kiddos afternoon snack. They were very easy, little cleanup and I was able to make them into bars. I loved how they weren't incredibly chewy or crunchy, my 2 year old would have had a hard time with that. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States