Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Very easy and very tasty! I can't comment on the bar formation because I always eat it straight out of the bowl! For some reason, these are 4 ingredients I always have when the pantry's empty and I need something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very yummy. I used half honey half light corn syrup and let the sugar mixture boil for 1 min. (to try to keep the honey taste from being too overpowering). Set up very nicely as bars after it cooled. The peanuts really add a lot. Kinda tastes like a PayDay bar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Added another cup of Cheerios and it filled a 9x13 thinly. Also, used a handful of sunflower seeds instead of peanuts. Good base recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
5 STARS!!! This recipe is AWESOME!! i actually didnt have Cheerios or peanuts in the house so i used Crispix and sunflower seeds instead and i must say this has become an instant favorite in my home! Thank you for such a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made these for a care package for my husand who is in Iraq. The turned out great and tasted wonderfully... i ended up having to make another batch for myself. I used 1/4 cup Splenda to replace the sugar and also added dried cranberries for a little extra zest!! I took the advice of boiling the splenda/honey mixture for 5 mintues to help the bar set up when they cooled and it worked fabulously! Wonderful recipe.... i will definatly be making more to send off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
doubled the recipe, still didn't fill a 9x13 pan, will triple next time. these were awesome tasting. used all natural ingredients including sucanate instead of sugar and added crushed natural unsalted almonds. will definitely be making them again. settled into perfect portable squares :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I was looking for a cereal bar recipe that's fast, easy, and tasty (I'm trying to have more homemade stuff and less prepackaged ). These are fantastic, and I don't even like honey!! I used wheatie puffs (think unsweetened Sugar Smacks. yeah, they're pretty bland), and boiled the honey mix for 3-4 minutes. I think I overdid it, though- the bars came out break-a-tooth-crunchy. But I found a solution (yaaay)! I covered a bar with a damp paper towel, and microwaved it for 20-30 seconds. Then I broke it up into bite-sized pieces and OM NOM NOM'd them good! SCRUMTABULOUS. EDIT: I boiled the honey/sugar mix for one minute (count 60 mississippis), and it was PERFECTLY chewy-- in fact, the bars stayed chewy for 2 weeks. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 x 12. I also boiled the sugar and honey for 3-4 minutes. And I used natural peanut butter and the recipe worked great. I think they may have been a little too thick doubled, but would have been too thin if it was a singe recipe. So next time I may spread them into a larger pan. These are definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe, only thing was i had to make a double batch for a 13x9 inch pan. the taste is great. even my sister who hates cheerios liked them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The flavor is pretty yummy, and put in individual servings in snack-sized zipper bags, they're a hit with the soccer team. I can't get them into bars to save my soul, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States