Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Although I made a few changes this time, I will definitely be making this again and will try it as written. I have made a very similar recipe that calls for 6 C cereal, 2 C PB, corn syrup instead of honey, uses brown sugar instead of white, and calls for a 12oz bag of chocolate chips. It is one of my FAVORITE recipes, but is high calorie. I found this to be a much lower calorie version and just as tasty per my substitutions. Per reviews, I decided to roughly multiply recipe by 1.5. I ended up using 5 cups cereal (1 C honey nut cheerios & 4 C Alpha Bits). 1/2 C sugar based on reviews. 3/4 C honey. 1 C peanut butter (I used 1 spoonful of chunky and the rest was PB Loco Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter). I had no problems with the boiling of honey/sugar. Once it reached a boil, I let it go about 30 seconds and removed from heat. I spread in 9 x 13 pan and thought the amount was just right and I promptly placed in the fridge to set. I took out about 30-60 minutes later. These formed perfectly as bars and tasted just like my FAV recipe I mentioned above, but with the addition of honey flavor. BUT, by cutting the amount of peanut butter (from my fav version) and omitting an entire bag of chocolate chips and using chocolate PB which has the same calories as reg PB, I saved over half the calories!! I will be making these again with "normal" peanut butter and trying other flavors of PB as well. GREAT recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Awsome bars! Mine came out chewy, not hard. I like them because they provide plenty of protein and carbs for when I work out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
these are amazing!!!!!!!!!!! the only thing i changed was corn syrup instead of honey.5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymoose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These are the best!!! The most addicting bars ever. I used multi-grain cherios and followed recipe exactly and they turned out perfect and took only about 5 minutes to make. These will be a regular recipe at our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisner, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I used whole wheat chex, half sugar-free syrup, half honey and half sugar, half splenda. Then I added macadamia nuts. I Loved these! they're a little sweet, but I still really enjoyed them. Will definitely make again! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC&JC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this for my 3 kids and 5 others - only a couple finished them and no one has requested them since. No one really disliked them - just not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
YUM! Tastes awesome with honey nut cheerios. I also used PB Loco Peanut Butter w/ Sumatro Cinnamon & Raisins, so it had some extra tasty stuff in there. For fun, I threw in few Kraft caramel bits that I had on hand. They are fun--a nice twist/change-up from the Special K or Rice Krispy cereal bars. Super fast too! Just be careful not to stack them--they stick together like krazy glue! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I doubled the coating part of the recipe and added 5 cups of toasted oat cereal then 1/4 cup each of peanuts, sunflower seeds (shelled), raisins, dried cherries, and dried cranberries. Turned out great. I haven't actually cut them yet so we will see how that goes. Great way to use up cereal that no one likes. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very good! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was good. My son likes it. I think the cereal pieces are too big to make bars and the sugar is too much and and makes them too hard. Next time I make this I will break up the cereal or use a smaller cereal, use just peanut butter and honey and I think they will turn out better. What I did with my first batch is crumble it all up for a "munch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States