Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I wanted to use up a box of Vanilla Special K cereal, so I used that instead of the toasted oats cereal. If you like "sweet" then this is for you! This was a great after school snack for the kids and their friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These are super easy and can be tweaked in so many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I've made these bars several times and they are just delicious! So much cheaper than buying granola bars and healthy to boot. I make as directed and occasionally add in uncooked oatmeal, flax seed, or wheat bran and sometimes throw in some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe multiple times and I have always loved it. My family likes them as a quick grab and go snack or breakfast. but if your reading this keep it in mind that I'm 13 and love sweets. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I'm on my second time making these in three days! Buttered 9x13 pan, 1 cup corn syrup, 2/3 c brown sugar, 1 cup crunchy pb, pinch of salt, 2 tsp vanilla, 10 cups of cereal (3 c Multigrain Cheerios, 3c Kix, and 4 c cocoa puffs). Once the syrup and sugar started bubbling around the edges, I timed one minute and then removed from the heat. Pressed into the pan using a sheet of waxed paper and allowed to cool before cutting. Once cool, cutting into bars is no problem. My next attempt will include oats, coconut, and chocolate chips...can't wait! Thank you for a wonderful base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
addicting! I used plain Cheerios and used chopped almonds instead of peanuts and also added craisins and chopped pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
excellent use for any unsweetened cereal that doesn't get eaten. everyone loves em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used "Honey Nut Cheerio's" in this recipe. I was short on the honey so I used half honey and half corn syrup with the sugar. I followed everything else except for throwing in a cup of trail mix instead of the peanuts; I forgot the chips would melt but that was fine, it just gave it a darker color. Let simmer for a few minutes so it the sugar would set when cooled. I don't know why but it didn't look like enough for a 10x13 pan so I quickly greased my 8x8 brownie pan. I cut into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Perfect scenario to try this recipe: I had 2 cups of "healthy" cereal that I didn't want to waste, my always-looking-for-something-to-eat kiddos we're asking for a snack, and our pantry was basically cleaned out. I had all the necessary ingredients and scaled down the recipe to fit the dry ingredients (2 cups) I had. Success! Since I used a healthier (read: not very sweet) cereal, the honey/sugar combo was perfect for us. I will say that I did have a problem with the bars being hard (my jaw is still tired from all the chewing!), but I'm hoping that it's only because I need to tweak the ratio between the cereal and the honey/sugar/peanut butter "syrup". Since we like peanut butter, I may just add a little more peanut butter and a dash of cinnamon and hope that'll solve the hardness issue. Either way, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
We added 2Tbsp.of cocoa powder to the sugar to give it a reward like flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States