Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I like the jest of the recipe. As some others mentioned about a bitter aftertaste. I noticed it too, which I think is from the baking powder. 2 tablespoons seems like a lot. I will make these pancakes again using only 2 teaspoons of baking powder. I used 1% milk, no oil applesauce instead. Used fresh blueberries (1 1/2 cups), only two eggs and added some cinnamon & vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I made some adjustments according to what we had on hand. I used buttermilk instead of soy milk. I used vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I processed my oats in the blender first so the were more like flour. And, for the flour, I used a cup of white whole-wheat flour. I didn't add the blueberries directly to the batter, rather I dropped them into the pancakes as I put them on the griddle. Also, as with any pancake recipe, I did not over stir the batter - you want to stir just until everything is moistened. Once you have done that, let the batter rest a good 5 - 10 minutes before cooking; that will give you a fluffier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is one of my favorite breakfast recipes! I love the texture and taste of these pancakes. You would never know there is oatmeal in the recipe unless someone told you. I follow the recipe for the most part, with the exception of the soy milk. I use whatever milk I have on hand (whole, skim, etc.) and they have always turned out great. This Saturday I used buckwheat flour in place of the whole wheat flour, and they were one of the best batches I have made! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These are great...the only thing I would change is to up the blueberries which I did to about a cup. For personal preference I used coconut oil in place of the olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Way too much milk. I add more flour & it was still too thin. Definitely not thick enough to hold blueberries. But the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
These come out great. I used old fashioned oats, regular milk, and added a splash of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
These are yummy, made waffles rather than pancakes so I used less BP and used blackberries instead of blueberries, only because I prefer waffles and had blackberries that had to be used up. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used all whole wheat flour, half rice milk half reg milk, and coconut oil instead of oil. For the oil it gets hard when you put it in the milk, so heat mix up in microwave for 1 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie  Novak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe! I've been wanting to find a healthy alternative to our conventional recipe for our weekly Saturday morning pancake tradition. This recipe is awesome! The first time I made it I was weary, and so I added a tsp of vanilla, a liitle more salt and used butter instead of olive oil. I also used whole milk instead of soy and regular old fashioned oatmeal. They came out good, but second time I followed the recipe exactly but still used regular whole milk and old fashioned oats. Amazing! My kids loved it! I did cook these on lower heat because the density of these require them to sit awhile longer. Also have to check them since, as other reviewers noted, they don't bubble yo like regular pancakes. I love that this recipe is so healthy, easy and delicious! No blender or food processor needed and no specialty store ingredients required. My daughter (5) said she likes these better than the old pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Really enjoyed them. 1st time making these so followed the recipe, but used Almond milk because that's what I had plus extra berries. Olive oil is good for you, didn't add bad flavor. Not sure of calorie count for each? Ended up with 20 pancakes!! Will freeze and enjoy again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States