Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
An excellent recipe, but I had to give it 4 stars for two reasons. First, the recipe makes so much that it was much more than my 3 boys, husband and I could eat. Second, the flavor is a bit balnd and needs a bit of spicing up. To fix the first problem, I simply divided in half. Instead of three eggs, I used one whole egg and one egg yolk. To fix the second problem, I kept the original 2 Tbls of brown sugar for the divided recipe and added vanilla extract and a little bit of cinnamon. Overall, the texture of the pancakes are soft and fluffy. Even though they are made with oatmeal, you would not know that unless told. My whole gang likes them, including the picky 8 year old. One word of caution though, these pancakes do not bubble the same way as normal pancakes, so make sure you turn them when the edges are slightly drying to make sure you don't burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Even though I made some changes, these still deserve 5 stars. The major change I made was using buttermilk in place of soy. I would have used soy, but I don't really have any other uses for it, so decided to go w/the buttermilk I already had instead. I used whole wheat pastry flour, and next time, will probably just use that and cut out the white flour altogether. I used old-fashioned oats because I don't keep quick oats on hand. They were great! I also added a little bit more blueberries. They were light and fluffy with a great texture inside and out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Excellent and healthy. I have made these many times. If not a fan of soymilk you can substitute buttermilk or evaporated milk. I have made them all three ways depending on what I have on hand. These always turn out perfect. Easy and without the presevatives of packaged mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Surprisingly moist, fluffy, and yummy. My favorite Saturday ritual at home was having mom's all fat, sugar, and white-flour pancakes, but these had the same texture with more hearty taste; even used all whole wheat flour, subbed applesauce for oil, splenda for sugar, and mostly egg whites; couldn't part with my maple syrup (which goes even better with hearty, whole-wheat pancakes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Definitely a different texture from your classic pancake, but that's part of what makes it good. I use applesauce instead of the oil and regular milk instead of soy. Add a few extra blueberries, they're good for you. Delicious, and leftovers are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
These were very good! My husband and kids cleaned there plates even though it was a "healty" recipe! I did make a few changes as other reviewers noted. I used 1 cup buttermilk & 1 cup 2% milk instead of soy milk and I substituted 1/4 cup of applesauce for the olive oil. I also added a few shakes of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla. I made the blueberry syrup listed with a waffle recipe from this site for the topping. What a tasty and healthy breakfast!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the AP and half of the ww flour, clabbered the soy milk a bit with 2 t. of white vinegar and used raisins in place of the blueberries I did not have. Made 17 (1/4 c.) pancakes that got better towards the end as I gained more patience and resisted flipping too early!** I have since made these with blueberries, ww pastry flour for all the AP flour and 4t of vinegar for clabbered soymilk. Made 14 (1/4 c.) fluffy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This is hardly the same recipe after all the tweaking we've all done. I used buttermilk not soy & old fashioned oats not quick & vegetabe oil not olive. VERY GOOD! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
My eighteen-month-olds loved these! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and let the batter set for about 5 minutes to thicken up a bit. I also added more blueberries as another reviewer had suggested. Next time I will try applesauce instead of the olive oil (they had a slight olive oil taste). I think that they would be great with bananas or raspberries too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
What a great breakfast! I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour in place of the other flours and I didn't have any blueberries. They were awesome just plain though with a little maple syrup. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States