Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good oatmeal pancakes! I used coconut oil and almond milk instead because that's what I had on hand. I made the full batch and not a single one left. Making them smaller (3-4 inch) vs bigger worked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Tasty and healthy .. I replaced the blueberries with walnut coz I didn't have blueberries .. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Probably the best whole wheat waffle I've made! These were fluffy and light, yet with the heartiness of whole wheat and oatmeal. I really liked that they weren't overly dense like the texture of most whole wheat dishes. The only changes I made were due to what I had on hand, and personal preferences. I actually used all whole wheat flour instead of 1/2 of each. I left out the brown sugar because I like to sweeten with a good dose of maple syrup later. :) I used half the olive oil it called for and added a splash more milk. I have regular old-fashioned oats and they worked just fine (just make sure to soak them with the milk for at least 5 minutes). I removed 1 TB of oats to replace with 1 TB of protein powder - hey, why not get more protein while we're at it? :) For some added flavor, I added some cinnamon and nutmeg, as well as vanilla. These pancakes start out on the thinner side, but they puff up wonderfully! This is my newest favorite recipe for pancakes - very easy and quick to throw together, clean-up is also a breeze. Not to mention, healthy! Although I made a lot of changes, they are minor replacements and additions that really do not alter the original recipe enough to not warrant giving it 5 stars! It's very versatile to suit your tastes. If you're looking for a light and fluffy whole wheat pancake recipe, this is a winner! Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a great base recipe, I have made it a few different ways. I have used olive oil, coconut oil, and apple sauce, all good, with a different tastes for each. I used all wheat flour instead of half white, as well as almond milk instead of soy. I also added cinnamon as well as vanilla extract. Even sneaked some milled flax seed in as well! When I was out of blueberries, the recipe still tasted good without. I also want to add that I rarely make these to eat at the time, I make a double batch on the weekend to freeze so the kids have a hot, homemade breakfast through out the school week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Love this! Thanks so much for the recipe! I never would have thought the oats would work in pancakes...and this is such a healthy recipe! I doubled the blueberries, used all whole wheat flour, and added a bit of vanilla - just personal pref changes. I wouldn't think you need to double the sugar as other reviewers suggested - this was perfect! My 15 year-old health nut vegetarian daughter gave these her seal of approval! thanks-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I doubled this recipe for our large family. I used skim milk, all whole wheat flour, extra blueberries, sugar free applesauce instead of oil, and reg old fashioned oats. It was good, I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I give this a 5!! I used only whole wheat flour and low fat milk mixed with a little Greek yogurt and they came out great!! I also added more blueberries! I don't even eat pancakes and I had one and LOVED it!! My grand-daughters will love these. A great way to have good fiber!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Loved this recipe...followed the list of the ingredients exactly, but didn't soak the oats in the milk beforehand (I will do that next time!) and will also try applesauce substitution for the oil, and cut down on the b. powder. thank you for a great recipe, I'm trying to make healthier comfort food and this was a big help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Not bad pancakes. A trifle runny but pretty tasty. I used about a cup of family farm grown blueberries, which apparently are more tart than what are sold in the stores, so hub asked me if I'd made raspberry pancakes. No, I hadn't, but raspberries would be good in this. Added cinnamon and vanilla and it made a lot of leftover pancakes that I guess we'll have for breakfast tomorrow. Pretty easy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The consistency is great - they are fluffy and thick. Couple that with the healthy nature of the ingredients and I think it deserves 4.5 stars. I thought the flavor was just a bit bland - it could definitely use some vanilla and cinnamon as one reviewer suggests and perhaps more brown sugar or a sweeter fruit such as bananas. Or just slap some syrup on those suckers. At first I thought there was more than 8 servings in this recipe. I got about 16 large (the size of my hand) pancakes out of this so I think 8 servings is correct. One very helpful hint from another reviewer that I tried - cover your blueberries in a little flour. It keeps the blueberries whole as you cook the pancakes (we used fresh blueberries, not frozen). We will definitely make these again. PS I used 2% milk instead of soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States