Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
LOVE THESE PANCAKES! So good, I got my mom to replace her recipe for pancakes and she's the one who taught me everything I know about cooking. I never have Soy Milk on hand (can't stand it), so I use 2% milk. My first step is to put Whole Oats in a bowl with the milk and set aside while I prepare everything else. I double the brown sugar and no one bothers to put syrup on them they're so sweet. I make them at least once a month and we let the leftovers sit out a bit on a paper towel to dry and then freeze them for a toaster oven quick breakfast in the next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good. i used vanilla flavored soy milk and it turned out great. I ate the extras the next morning for bfast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Best banana / whole wheat / oatmeal pancakes I have ever eaten in my life! I looooooove these pancakes. I substituted soy milk for regular milk, used only whole wheat and mixed in small chunks of bananas. (about 2 bananas). Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were phenomenal!! And for the purist, I'm sorry I didn't follow the recipe exactly. (One of the things I love about this website is other people's suggestions & experiences.) I used all whole wheat flour, replaced oil w/ unsweetened applesauce, and subbed buttermilk for the soy milk, which I don't keep on hand or particularly care for. I also had old fashion oatmeal, which I ran through the mini chopper until a little less coarse & added a splash of vanilla. The result was a moist, delicious batch of pancakes w/ superb texture, that I'm guessing is at least as healthy as the original recipe & 100 times better for you than traditional pancakes. I love the addition of oatmeal. My only 'complaint' & it was my fault: I heeded a suggestion that this made too many and cut the recipe in half. My bad--I ate 3 as soon as they came off the stove (not sure how that racks up on calories) & wished I had MANY more to freeze for later. Thanks for sharing an incredible recipe & the great suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These were good, I wont say that they were significantly great but they were good, good enough to deserve four stars and good enough to make again sometime. The only change that I made that probably wasn't all that significant is that I had a little extra buttermilk left in the carton so used half buttermilk/half soy milk and it turned out great this way. Also I used 2x as many blueberries but that was just to my individual taste. Also I think 1/4th a cop each pancake is a bit too small, I made mine more like 1/3rd to 1/2 of a cup each and it made 3 large pancakes for half of the recipe. So really I made no significant changes that would make the entire turn out really all that different from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
A+ I added some flex seed to the recipe to make this recipe even better :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Not a fan. Mainly because it seemed the consistency was a challenge to cook up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These turned out very nicely. My husband really enjoyed them. We love whole wheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious hearty pancakes! Although I made a few changes... I used only whole wheat flour, skim milk instead of soy, canola oil, and frozen raspberries. I also added some cinnamon and a tsp. of vanilla. This was so good and devoured by all! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madnsavsmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great starter recipe, but I made a few changes to make it even healthier, without losing that fluffy, indulgent pancake taste. I use all whole wheat pastry flour in place of the flours mentioned. I also added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla. In place of oil I use either applesauce or smashed banana. My last change is that I take out the sugar. If you still want a little sweetness, use 1/2t of agave nectar in its place (agave is much sweeter than sugar). With the added sweetness from the fruit, I don't miss the sugar at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States