Oatmeal and Wheat Flour Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used all whole wheat flour, half rice milk half reg milk, and coconut oil instead of oil. For the oil it gets hard when you put it in the milk, so heat mix up in microwave for 1 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie  Novak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe! I've been wanting to find a healthy alternative to our conventional recipe for our weekly Saturday morning pancake tradition. This recipe is awesome! The first time I made it I was weary, and so I added a tsp of vanilla, a liitle more salt and used butter instead of olive oil. I also used whole milk instead of soy and regular old fashioned oatmeal. They came out good, but second time I followed the recipe exactly but still used regular whole milk and old fashioned oats. Amazing! My kids loved it! I did cook these on lower heat because the density of these require them to sit awhile longer. Also have to check them since, as other reviewers noted, they don't bubble yo like regular pancakes. I love that this recipe is so healthy, easy and delicious! No blender or food processor needed and no specialty store ingredients required. My daughter (5) said she likes these better than the old pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Really enjoyed them. 1st time making these so followed the recipe, but used Almond milk because that's what I had plus extra berries. Olive oil is good for you, didn't add bad flavor. Not sure of calorie count for each? Ended up with 20 pancakes!! Will freeze and enjoy again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious!!! I added 1tbs vanilla,1tsp cinnamon , bananas and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made this recipe today for breakfast. Wow! Very light and fluffy, but very filling. I used whole wheat pastry flour and fat free milk. Very good, I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
These pancakes are fantastic! I adapted the recipe for my own twist: halved it (since I was only cooking for one!) and made the following substitutions: - Old-fashioned rolled oats instead of quick cooking oats - Almond milk instead of soy milk, which I curdled with a bit of white vinegar for "buttermilk" - Melted coconut oil instead of olive oil (and used coconut oil to lightly grease the pan) - Fresh banana slices instead of blueberries (make sure the bananas are plenty ripe) - Added a dash of vanilla extract and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter I also used only one extra large egg in the halved version. These could easily be made vegan by using a flax egg or some other egg substitute. All in all, these are my new go-to pancakes! Not only are they (slightly) healthier than regular pancakes, they taste just as good, if not better :) By the way, the halved recipe gave me about a dozen 4-in diameter pancakes. Freeze and reheat leftovers for a delicious weekday morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good oatmeal pancakes! I used coconut oil and almond milk instead because that's what I had on hand. I made the full batch and not a single one left. Making them smaller (3-4 inch) vs bigger worked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Tasty and healthy .. I replaced the blueberries with walnut coz I didn't have blueberries .. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Probably the best whole wheat waffle I've made! These were fluffy and light, yet with the heartiness of whole wheat and oatmeal. I really liked that they weren't overly dense like the texture of most whole wheat dishes. The only changes I made were due to what I had on hand, and personal preferences. I actually used all whole wheat flour instead of 1/2 of each. I left out the brown sugar because I like to sweeten with a good dose of maple syrup later. :) I used half the olive oil it called for and added a splash more milk. I have regular old-fashioned oats and they worked just fine (just make sure to soak them with the milk for at least 5 minutes). I removed 1 TB of oats to replace with 1 TB of protein powder - hey, why not get more protein while we're at it? :) For some added flavor, I added some cinnamon and nutmeg, as well as vanilla. These pancakes start out on the thinner side, but they puff up wonderfully! This is my newest favorite recipe for pancakes - very easy and quick to throw together, clean-up is also a breeze. Not to mention, healthy! Although I made a lot of changes, they are minor replacements and additions that really do not alter the original recipe enough to not warrant giving it 5 stars! It's very versatile to suit your tastes. If you're looking for a light and fluffy whole wheat pancake recipe, this is a winner! Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is a great base recipe, I have made it a few different ways. I have used olive oil, coconut oil, and apple sauce, all good, with a different tastes for each. I used all wheat flour instead of half white, as well as almond milk instead of soy. I also added cinnamon as well as vanilla extract. Even sneaked some milled flax seed in as well! When I was out of blueberries, the recipe still tasted good without. I also want to add that I rarely make these to eat at the time, I make a double batch on the weekend to freeze so the kids have a hot, homemade breakfast through out the school week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States