Oatmeal and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I make a soup like this with rolled barley. If you're not vegan, try some homemade beef stock instead of water for a richer flavor. 2 days of simmering stock and part of a day on the soup. Took it to a party, worth every minute of time and labor! It was a hit! BTW, I puree my soup! Try adding some herbs like basil, dill, or marjoram. I use olive oil. This type of soup is so versatile. Change it up for your personal taste! Also great with a goat cheese garnish! Wow, I just realized this was a really old post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I served this one night and my husband had two bowls and said it was really good. I told him it had oatmeal in it and he was shocked. I bought a pamphlet at a garage sale that was budget weekly menus from the 1920 and it mentioned oatmeal soup and I was happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
So I was skeptical when xraybarb (= , did this recipe for my Hidden treasures blog. I'll be the 1st one to tell you, the thought of stewed tomatoes and oatmeal was sort of a put off. And that's the issue at hand. The sound of it. But she called me out and made a great point, about that. So I looked at the recipe again. And decided...since she threw down the "mental thinking" thing. That was it. I was totally sure I had all the ingredients and I did. I didn't put a fine chop on the onions(wished I did), crushed fresh garlic, and did the low cal butter, and the stewed tomatoes I had on hand was italian style(wished it was smaller chunks) and my oats were extra thick rolled oats(don't know if there is a difference) And above all. Good recipe. Seriously good, it's a total 4 in my book, I have to say I think I burnt some of the oats because that was new to me(toasting over the stove). My oldest said it was really really good. I can see me making again. Possibly adding a few veggies or adding the oats in place of barley in other recipes by using the technique in this recipe. Surprisingly, I no longer thing of oatmeal as a sweet dish in a bowl. This opened my eyes. Thanks barb (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was good. Probably better than I expected (= I tweaked it just a bit. Rather than dirty two pans, I toasted the oatmeal in the skillet first, then set it aside in a bowl until the end. (I used quick cooking oatmeal, because that was what I had on hand.) Then I used olive oil rather than butter, sauteing the onion first, then adding the garlic when the onion was nearly through (so as to not burn the garlic.) I also added a heaping tbsp of beef bouillon to the soup. I wasn't sure I'd like the"chunks" of tomato in the soup, but I did - though they were rather large coming out of the can, so I broke them up some with my spatula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was looking for an alternative way of eating oatmeal (I don't like pure oatmeal and water goo), and I made this (adding a few spices) and it turned out great! I added a poached egg on top of my personal bowl for extra protein and do not regret it. Yay, I can eat oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivi King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this as directed and was bland. I ended up having to add in diced tomatoes with green pepper and basil. I topped with parm cheese that did improve the taste, but still wasn't a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I am only giving this recipe 3 stars because even though I made a lot of changes to enhance the flavor, the soup was still a little bit bland. I added an extra clove of garlic, and I sauteed the onion and garlic in only 1 Tbsp. butter. I also used diced tomatoes, since that is what I had on hand. I added the 4 cups water, but then I tossed in 2 vegetable bouillon cubes to add flavor. I left out the salt because the bouillon cubes. I also added about 1 tsp. dried basil, 1 tsp. dried oregano, and 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley. At the very end of the cook time I added about 1 cup chopped fresh spinach. I will be making this recipe again because it is a quick and easy soup that can be made with ingredients I almost always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
very good soup! i added a chicken boullion cube.. also made it with condensed tomato soup and garlic powder.. both times it was very good! i recommend trying this recipe, as weird as it sounds. Do not serve inmediatly. if you want it for lunch make in the morning or night before. trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Photo by lost cookie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
i used a can of stewed tomatos (which has some good tomato broth packed with it) and it was REALLY good. I only used about 1/4 of a teaspoon of salt. only 4 stars though because i have tasted better soups for sure. but for the simplicity and way to make something out of a bare cupboard it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lost cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! Really quick, filling, and delicious. I had to use diced tomatoes as that's all I had on hand. I replaced the water with milk to make this a creamier soup and added a few shakes of oregano to give it some more flavor. The result was absolutely delicious! I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States