Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
The ingredient proportions are good except I did add some water to thin the batter a bit. These were fabulously fluffy light pancakes and so healthy! I even subbed all the flour for whole wheat! I've never made a w.w. pancake this fluffy before. I did add a little extra of the soda and powder. I didn't have sour cream so used a 6 oz. container of f.f. blackberry yogurt I had hanging around. I love the fact that this is high in fiber and very low fat...no butter or oil. Sprayed the pan with Pam and used butter spray and some honey on top! Filled me up on this rainy morning. Wonderful recipe and great with the whole wheat flour in lieu of all-purpose. If one doesn't like the batter that thick(it was more like a bread or muffin batter), just thin it with some water or milk to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I was actually looking for a waffle recipe that uses applesauce, and I ran across this particular pancake recipe. I liked the idea that it also uses oatmeal (since I have a lot of it in my cupboard!) I figured why not, I'll give it a try and make it into waffles. My experiment was a success--nice, light waffles with a hint of cinnamon. I doubled the recipe, and it made 4 full-sized waffles. I baked them in my waffle iron for approximately 8-9 minutes each. My husband gave them a thumbs up, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Who says a pancake has to be fluffy? These are wonderful. The batter is VERY thick and you have to kind of spread it in the pan. They are heavy...but that works for us. Two regular pancakes and I'm hungry by 10 a.m. Two of these and I was full to noon! Yummy too! My 10 yr old son ate two of them on top of his breakfast cereal. We will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We love 'em!! Did 2/3 cup whole wheat flour, 2/3 cup oats ground up in food processor. Added rest of dry ingredients w/ a full tsp of cinnamon, pulsed couple more times to mix. Used plain organic yogurt instead of sour cream & added 1/2 tsp liquid stevia to wet ingredients. Added almost 1/2 cup diced walnuts. Mixed dry ingredients into wet to make some really awsome & very healthy pancakes that were highly approved by my 20 mo' old, 3 yr. old & hubby. UPDATE: made these again & instead of plain yogurt, I used 1/2 c of my homemade vanilla yogurt (32 oz plain organic yogurt mixed w/ 1 tsp stevia & 1 tsp vanilla). Family said these were even better. I serve them to my kids w/ a little raw organic butter & raw honey. Always a big request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
These pancakes are great! They are my kids favorite. They are thick and filling. I make the batter the night before and stick it in the refridgerator. They cook up great the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Very tasty, hearty pancakes! I didn't have any regular oatmeal, so I subbed 2 packets of low sugar apple cinnamon instant oatmeal. The packets had chunks of dried apples in them that were really good in the pancakes. To compensate for the extra oatmeal, I upped the milk to 1/2 cup. These are heavy pancakes and the batter is thick. You will need to make sure that you cook them on medium heat to make sure they get done in the middle. I browned mine nicely on both sides, but still had a few with 'raw' middles'. I tossed them back into the skillet on low heat and finished cooking them through. My toddler asked for seconds on them - so I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I made these today and they were really good! I had to make a double recipe, (I have 5 kids), my batter was perfect, not to thick, not to thin. I did add 1TBS. sugar per batch as per others suggestions and it was just right! Great flavor! You really have to cook these low and slow for them to cook all the way through and not burn, but they are worth the wait! I really enjoyed these as did my family! We will make them again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
These were really good--I liked the thickness and heartiness. They were, however, a little bland (and I prefer a sweeter pancake), so I added some Splenda and a pinch of salt. Next time will try with walnuts and/or almonds, and probably some diced apple. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These pancakes were delicious and tender. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts (for some extra protein) and cooked them at a 300 degree setting on my electric griddle. Letting them rest under a cover after removal from the griddle, lets them finish cooking with the residual heat and ensures a cooked center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Tasted good but were heavy. I thought I would pop after eating 2 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States