Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We love 'em!! Did 2/3 cup whole wheat flour, 2/3 cup oats ground up in food processor. Added rest of dry ingredients w/ a full tsp of cinnamon, pulsed couple more times to mix. Used plain organic yogurt instead of sour cream & added 1/2 tsp liquid stevia to wet ingredients. Added almost 1/2 cup diced walnuts. Mixed dry ingredients into wet to make some really awsome & very healthy pancakes that were highly approved by my 20 mo' old, 3 yr. old & hubby. UPDATE: made these again & instead of plain yogurt, I used 1/2 c of my homemade vanilla yogurt (32 oz plain organic yogurt mixed w/ 1 tsp stevia & 1 tsp vanilla). Family said these were even better. I serve them to my kids w/ a little raw organic butter & raw honey. Always a big request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I loved these. I substituted 1/2 cup sour cream with 1/2 cup vanilla OIKOS greek yogurt and an extra 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. They came out really good. I topped them with real maple syrup and my family polished them off in minutes!! I suggest to keep your heat low, use a little cooking spray inbetween batches, and give these a little patience...I burned the first couple that I tossed on the griddle, but the rest came out great after I adjusted the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I agree with the reviewer that said that these never seemed done. Two of my kids commented that the middles tasted gooey. I added blueberries to mine, so this was not as noticeable. We have pancakes every Wednesday and have tried better recipes. I may try tweaking this one, but probably will not make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pretty good. Not the best pancakes I have had but they're decent. Maybe add fresh cut apple chunks next time or a little brown sugar. It was definitely missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I'll stick with the "old fashioned" recipes. These did not seem "done" to me, no matter how long I cooked or how thin I made the batter. Too bad, the recipe was intriguing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
These were great. I made them less healthy by adding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I have tried a lot of pancake recipes, and this one is so for my fav. Loved everything about it. The only thing I added was chocolate chips. Pancakes are not pancakes without chocolate chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brakerme

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have a one year old whom I try to fix healthy meals for. This one sounded wonderful. I did modify mine a little. I used 1 packet of maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal in place of the quick cooking oats (not so healthy I suppose), 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon (we LOVE cinnamon and would add more next time), and 2 tsps vanilla (LOVE this too). They were wonderful!! They smelled fantastic while they were on the griddle! I set my electric griddle at around 325 and they had to cook for quite a while so they weren't doughy. They were still moist from the applesauce, but perfectly so! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THESE!! Will definitely make again and maybe try other instant oatmeal packets to change up the flavor. BTW, this made 11 for me, using 1/4 cup batter for each. My little one ate 2 whole pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyBear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Not bad. Not great. No sugar or salt are called for in this recipe, which I didn't really even realize until I sat down to eat them. Pretty noticeable! We wound up using salted butter (which we wouldn't normally add butter to our pancakes) and using a few extra squirts of pancake syrup. I did add a bit more milk to mine to thin out the batter as I hate super thick pancake batter (harder for me to judge doneness accurately) but that was an easy fix for preference only. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These are wonderful pancakes. Very filling, nutritious, and flavorful. Thank you, thank you, thank you! They were a huge hit with the kids. This morning I ran out of applesauce so I use apple butter for 1/2 c. WOW - did that go over well. Im sure that killed some of the nutritional value but that was YUMMY! I also used stone cut oats instead of quick cooking oaks and they were still soft and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States