Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Great! Don't make the pancakes too big or they will fall apart as you try to turn them. They stay nice and moist inside though! I took the advice of the other posters and use 2/3 oats, 2/3 whole wheat flour (blended the oats a little bit) and used a little extra milk to thin the batter. Forgot the vanilla by accident! But it was great. Added a chopped apple too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littlerock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I gave them 3 stars but my other half and son gave them 4start - they really liked them. For me, it was the the taste. I don't have a sweet thooth and even I found these really lacking some sweetness. Maybe sweetened applesauce would have been better. Don't think I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I added one tablespoon sugar and doubled the amount of cinnamon called for and still found these to be rather bland. They also took forever and a day to cook. I don't have a griddle so used a couple frying pans, Don't know if that was part of the problem, but it took close to a half hour and some were still mushy and raw-tasting in the middle. Definitely not worth the hassle in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These are okay, but a little bland, and the texture wasn't to my liking. I'll be making other pancake recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Too gooey. The center never cooked. A little tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Never made pancakes this fluffy before!! I used WW flour, added 1/4 cup oat bran and 1/4 cup wheat germ. Used apple flavor yogurt instead of sour cream and egg substitute. Also doubled the recipe because they were eaten so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved the taste, texture... couldn't ask for a better tasting pancake. Even my 21 month old son ate 3 pancakes for breakfast and wanted more. He's at the stage where he doesn't want anything except milk, graham crackers and oatmeal so this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Thank goodness I doubled this recipe because my 4 young sons DEVOURED these! I only made 2 significant changes to this recipe: I added 1 T. ground flaxseed meal and 1/4 cup packed brown sugar (that was for my doubled amount). I also used "Coaches Oats" from Costco since I never buy quick oats. I pulsed them a few times in my processeor to ensure they wouldn't be crunchy, and even with these minor changes they were EXCELLENT. Dense, moist, awesome! We served with maple syrup, but next time I'm gonna make my buttermilk syrup to go with. Either way, you can't go wrong with these! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were good - more like a flat muffin than a pancake. I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose. Next time, I may try kefir instead of sour cream and up the oats to 1/2 cup (I used old fashioned). I might even add some diced apple. Overall I enjoyed them - I love that there was no added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The only things I did differently was to do 2/3 cup, (instead of 1/3 cup) milk as I found the batter to be just too thick otherwise. As well, I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, (less calories). The flavour was among the BEST I've ever tasted in pancakes or waffles. A GREAT breakfast dish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States