Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are extremely hearty pancakes. The batter is very thick and I had to spoon it around to make it spread. As a result, they take a little longer to cook than other pancakes. I didn't have milk so subbed apple juice instead, but it didn't thin it out or change anything that I could tell. These are good topped with cooked apples--I made the Toasted Apple-Pecan Brie Sandwiches from here yesterday and didn't use all the topping, and it was pretty good on top of these pancakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was excited to find a "heathly" pancake, but my 4 yr old and hubby were not fans of them at all. I thought they tasted fine and my 2 yr old was fine with them...I did food process the oatmeal to make a smoother texture. I would omit the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So disappointing. They were uncooked in the middle, even after cooking for a long time. We had to slice them in half and cook them again! WE dubbed them "refried pancakes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I kinda hodge podged this recipe since I only had half a cup of sweetened applesause. I reduced the sour cream to 1/3 cup and added an additional 1/4 tsp vanilla plus 3 tbsp of milk since the batter was really thick. The pancakes turned out amazing!! Next time I hope to get crazy and try whole wheat flower and have the right amount of apple sauce. My 19 mo son loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good. To feed 6 with good appetites, double the recipe. As a variation, cut the applesauce by half, add one diced apple, and add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Yep, the batter looks 'interesting' but there is no better apple pancake. Delicious AND nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These pancakes are great! My only substitutions were whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose flour since I had it on hand, and plain yogurt for the sour cream because that's what I had. I liked that the batter was thick; used a 1/4 cup disher to scoop up and also pat down/spread out the batter. Since there is no sugar added to the pancakes, I used pomegranate jelly as a topping and thought they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Super thick. I added more water to get a better pancake texture but they were delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These are very tasty, hearty, filling pancakes. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States