Oatmeal and Applesauce Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
These were really good from scratch pancakes. I adjusted the recipe though using only 2/3cup 100% whole wheat flour so they weren't so thick, used an entire cup of applesauce, used fat free plain yogurt in place of the sour cream, used an extra 1/2 tsp of baking powder and a little extra baking soda(as another review suggested), and added ground flaxseed. The oatmeal really stands out and tastes great. Perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of dense/fluffiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great recipe! I love that the only sugar comes from the applesauce. I used WG pastry flour and they came out great and were very filling. Even my 16 month old ate an entire one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I substituted yogurt for the sour cream, cinnamon spice instant oatmeal for the quick oats, and added an additional 1/3 cup of milk. One recipe makes nine six-inch pancakes. This recipe was a hit with my family. These pancakes are very hearty…we ended up eating a little more than half the amount we would have eaten with traditional pancakes, and everyone was stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These pancakes are a hit in my family, especially with my 4 and 5 year old. They are very filling so they're great not only at breakfast time but also for lunch. Some said the recipe was not sweet enough, I disagree. If you're not a sugar lover make the recipe as is. The applesauce gives them a really nice flavor. I also used a blend of white and whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
excellent and makes you feel good because they are healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Great recipe. I made it a banana pancake recipe. What I changed: I used only 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and added extra milk at the end to make the pancakes a little less thick. One day I did not have applesauce, so I substituted 2 mashed bananas. They were awesome! My husband doesn't want me to make them any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
These are very, very good. Have a very nice apples with cinnamon flavor. I added 3 tbsp of ground flax (I add it to everything) and they came out wonderful. I did add an extra tsp of baking powder, but I like mine fluffy :) I plan on trying to sub in other veggies/fruits for the applesauce as this recipe seems very easy to switch around. I love these and my kids did too!! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
These are great! I used whole wheat flour, 2 eggs, a little extra milk, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. I have also substituted ripe bananas for part of the applesauce and plan on trying pumpkin too. Thanks - these are the best according to my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great pancakes...I made a couple of changes...i used 1/2 c of oat flour, 1/2 c of white flour...I added a little bit of sugar as others suggested and used coconut milk instead of regular milk. They were sooo good! I will definitley be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Sorry, but these did NOT go over well at our house! I made them exactly as stated. Besides the slight gumminess, they were just SO bland. I guess this is supposed to be a "healthy" pancake, but you can have a tasty, healthy pancake! We love the Nut and Grain Pancake recipe from this site. I hate to give negative reviews, but this one just won't be made again here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States