Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used 1 cup butter, 2tsp vanilla, 4 cups confectioner's sugar for the filling and still had a lot of filling leftover. Don't use raw eggs in recipes as it can cause food poisoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very Good! This is just my own little by accident tip. I made these on a hot day and the icing started to melt between the cookies so I put the cookies in the freezer. I wrapped each cookie in saran wrap and froze. So yummy, not too hard and the icing still soft. A yummy treat into a cool treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were good, but I prefer making the Spicy Oatmeal cookie recipe (sans raisins) from this site and making the filling using 1/2 c shortening, 1 regular-sized jar of marshmellow fluff, 1/3 c powdered sugar and 3 tsp of hot water with 1/4 tsp salt dissolved in it. More like the Little Debbie Filling, and doesn't need to be refridgerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Excellent! I did think however they are way too rich. I am going to try to cut down on the shortening the next time maybe by a few tablespons. Definatley give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Cookies were soft and delicious (and stayed soft!), the filling was the crowning glory, but you need to have a sweet tooth. MMMMMM! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I loved these, they remind of "Little Debbies" oatmeal cookies with a homemade taste. I under bake my cookies and flatten them a little with a fork so they are really chewy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
The oatmeal "pies" are just great oatmeal cookies themselves... but if you're looking for something really sweet then add the filling and sandwich them. They're great either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
these were really good. I would recommend making them on the smaller side as I made very large ones and some of them broke before we could make them into sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Wow - these cookies are amazing. I would recommend that you unbake them slightly for a very soft and chewy cookie. The vanilla filling is perfect, not overly sweet. A definite crowd pleaser. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I loved the cookie part of this recipe! I also underbaked mine; they were so nice and chewy that way! The filling, however, tasted a little too much like shortening to me. Altogether, this is a good recipe, but if I make it again, I would definitely make a different filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States