Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used 1 cup butter, 2tsp vanilla, 4 cups confectioner's sugar for the filling and still had a lot of filling leftover. Don't use raw eggs in recipes as it can cause food poisoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messy_jessie
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These are way better than the store bought version (and way less preservatives). I used the medium sized Pampered Chef scoop and flatened the dough out a tad on the cookie sheet. I baked them for a little over eight minutes and they came out perfectly done. With the PC scoop, the recipes made twenty sandwiches. I also sneaked a little (okay maybe a lot) of raw dough, so it may have made a few more. I used a little less shortening in my filling also. Yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I loved the cookie part of this recipe! I also underbaked mine; they were so nice and chewy that way! The filling, however, tasted a little too much like shortening to me. Altogether, this is a good recipe, but if I make it again, I would definitely make a different filling. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I loved these, they remind of "Little Debbies" oatmeal cookies with a homemade taste. I under bake my cookies and flatten them a little with a fork so they are really chewy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I did not try these finished, (just the raw cookie dough), but the family really likes these and told me to give them 4 stars. I couldn't get past the shortening taste of the filling in the little bit I tried on my finger. My family didn't seem to notice. I'm sure I will make these again for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I substitued 3/4 c. refined coconut oil for the butter. The cookies turned out fabulous. I made large cookies and was able to make 24 or 12 pairs. To keep this soy free, for the filling I used Spectrum Organic Palm shortening, reducing the amount to 1/2 + 1/8 cup. Substituted coconut milk for regular milk. Overall very good results. Doesn't taste exactly like a LD Oatmeal creme pie but I'm happy and chemical free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I love this recipe. What a neat twist on a whoopie pie. I was afraid the cookies may flatten too much with all butter and I considered using half butter flavored crisco but i decided to use half butter and half margarine and had good results. They held up well. I added 2 teas. vanilla to the cookie mix(I love vanilla extract and use it in nearly everything)! The only other thing I did was to add 1/4 cup marshmallow fluff to the filling ( and a little extra vanilla, of course)! These are great. Make them small though, because they are very sweet and rich. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Oh boy were these good, so soft and chewy. I used cream cheese frosting II instead of the written filling.. just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are out of this world with or without the filling!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
The cookie itself tasted very good. I am giving this only 3 stars because i felt that the cookies were a little too hard. I thought they would be softer. Maybe i will try to undercook them next time to get them chewier. Also i wasn't too excited about the filling. Too sweet and wasnt too crazy about eating shortening. Will try again, with some adjustments. But not a bad start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States