Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These are awesome! My boyfriend always begs for oatmeal cream pies at the grocery store, so I made these for him instead. These would be a great treat for bake sales and picnics, and are suprisingly quick to make and assemble. The cookie recipe is great alone, but made even better by the filling. I used a 1/2 cup of shortening for the filling, and will try butter next time. Be generous with the filling, I used it sparingly and had lots left over. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I thought these were great not to sweet at all. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked the right at 10 minutes and they turned out soft and stayed that way. The only problem I had with the recipe was that it didn't say how or what size to drop them on the pan, I ended up do rounded tablespoons full and ended up with 48 cookies=24 pies and they were the perfect size! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These are VERY good. I made these as directed, but I did take them out at 9 minutes. These are really sweet, though, and I have a big sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I didn't use the filling recipe because I made these to use up some frosting I already had. The cookies were good...a bit too sweet, and I would suggest baking for less time than in the directions. 10 minutes made mine a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureliza

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These were amazing. My husband used to love the L.D. oatmeal creme pies until he found out they contain coconut. He harbors a deep hatred and disgust for it. These are pretty similar. I always adjust recipes to my taste. Added vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice to the cookie part, and added a dash of salt to the creme filling. It helps to alleviate some of the sweetness. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleer
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious! I baked the cookies fro about 10 minutes...they didn't look done but the edges were brown. Once the cookies cooled they were perfect and chewy. Very similar to a Little Debbie Oatmeal Cream Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandyd
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These are great and my two daughters loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I usually make chocolate whoopie pies, but was looking for a recipe to use up some oatmeal. This recipe was quick, easy, and YUMMY! It got rave reviews from the guys my hubby works with - they say I am better than Little Debbie ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were excellent! I'm keeping this recipe for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great recipe, thank you for keeping it traditional! I spent a great deal of my youth in Pennsylvania Dutch country, where whoopie pies are still pretty much a staple. The filling has always been made with Crisco and egg whites and I never heard of anyone contracting "food poisoning", ever. In fact, you will see most any version of a whoopie pie at any local bake sale, wrapped individually in wax paper (just like the Tastykakes of yore,sigh) and I would bet they were made from a recipe handed down through the generations which included egg whites in the filling. Whoopie Pies are what they are...changing anything out would be breaking a long-standing traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States