Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The cookie part kept breaking. It was almost impossible to get them off the pan and to frost the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I know my husband would love these, one cook said they're Like little Debbies and he gobbles them up but I'd much prefer making my own. Now here's my ???. For the filling, are the egg whites just beaten, are they foamy, soft peaks, stiff? I'd hate to wreck the cookies w/a silly mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
These were a hit, but you do need a glass of water nearby - they are super sweet! I would definitely double the filling recipe, although the cookies are good by themselves. Also, pay attention to the size of the cookies. I made pretty big cookies, and then it's almost too much. Great recipe when I have a sweet tooth, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N&J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are very yummy...followed recipe to a tee and everything was spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are wonderful!!!!!! I have made them a few times and everyone has loved them. I thought the icing to be too rich...at first but I refrigerated some of the pies and froze others. I think after setting the flavors balanced. I threw a btch togetehr for mothers day and My sister in law who is always watching her weight and never keeps sweets in the house actually took a few home. SO I suggested whip them up, wrap them in palstic wrap and refrigerate or freeze! Pull them out when you need a fix they are great!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were good, but I prefer making the Spicy Oatmeal cookie recipe (sans raisins) from this site and making the filling using 1/2 c shortening, 1 regular-sized jar of marshmellow fluff, 1/3 c powdered sugar and 3 tsp of hot water with 1/4 tsp salt dissolved in it. More like the Little Debbie Filling, and doesn't need to be refridgerated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These are AWESOME!!! One of the best oatmeal cookie recipes I've ever had...add a cream filling and top with another cookie and your that much closer to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Didn't make the filling. Cookies are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These are awesome! My boyfriend always begs for oatmeal cream pies at the grocery store, so I made these for him instead. These would be a great treat for bake sales and picnics, and are suprisingly quick to make and assemble. The cookie recipe is great alone, but made even better by the filling. I used a 1/2 cup of shortening for the filling, and will try butter next time. Be generous with the filling, I used it sparingly and had lots left over. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I thought these were great not to sweet at all. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked the right at 10 minutes and they turned out soft and stayed that way. The only problem I had with the recipe was that it didn't say how or what size to drop them on the pan, I ended up do rounded tablespoons full and ended up with 48 cookies=24 pies and they were the perfect size! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States