Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My fiance and his son CANNOT keep their hands off these whoopie pies! Completely great according to them. I do wish the filling ingredients were increased according to the amount of cookies one can make. Each time I make this dish I do not have enough filling. Will increase next time and see what happens. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'd like to give this five stars but I couldn't bring myself to use the shortening called for in the cream recipe. The cookie made as directed is delicious. Others advised cooking for only 9 minutes but I had to cook for a total of 11, must have been the difference in my oven. I recommend flattening them before baking so they're easier to eat later. I also added a tad of molasses to the cookie batter. I cut the recipe by 3/4 so I came away with 9 cookies and made the following cream mix: 2 tbs. butter, 3/4 c. marshmallow fluff, 1 tbs. cream cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was so excited about these, and they did not turn out well at all. The cookies looked like pancakes as they came out of the oven (they expanded and all mushed into each other, and they were totally flat) and they were rock hard. Not at all what I was expecting. I gave two stars instead of one because they did taste good. I didn't bother making the frosting since it wouldn't have worked out with hard cookies. :( Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emilee
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made these for the Super Bowl. They were fantastic, and everyone loved them! After I read the reviews of under-baking them slightly to make a more "chewy" texture, I decided to bake some of them for 8 minutes and some for 9. The key word is SLIGHTLY, because the ones I baked for 8 minutes were too soft and they started falling apart. The ones I baked for 9 minutes were perfect. After reading the reviews about the vanilla filling I decided to use a different icing. I used the easy buttercream frosting recipe from this website (using all butter and no shortening) and the results were fabulous. I thought it complemented the oatmeal flavor perfectly. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
these were absolutely amazing! I was short on eggs, so I used a peanut butter filling (3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup peanut butter, beat. add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup confectioner's sugar. incorporate on low, and then beat on medium for 4 minutes.) and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hartskitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were really good! Everyone that tried them loved them. I would make them smaller next time around. I also used a filling from another review that uses marshmallow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We added cream cheese for 1/2 of the shortening for more flavor. They're so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
these were really good. I would recommend making them on the smaller side as I made very large ones and some of them broke before we could make them into sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Awesome! You have to try these. I'm not even a big fan of oatmeal cookies, but these changed my mind. Took the suggestion of others, and refrigerated them after baking. I think it brought the flavors of the filling together better so that it didn't taste like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Oh WOW! These are truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States