Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Emilee
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made these for the Super Bowl. They were fantastic, and everyone loved them! After I read the reviews of under-baking them slightly to make a more "chewy" texture, I decided to bake some of them for 8 minutes and some for 9. The key word is SLIGHTLY, because the ones I baked for 8 minutes were too soft and they started falling apart. The ones I baked for 9 minutes were perfect. After reading the reviews about the vanilla filling I decided to use a different icing. I used the easy buttercream frosting recipe from this website (using all butter and no shortening) and the results were fabulous. I thought it complemented the oatmeal flavor perfectly. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
these were absolutely amazing! I was short on eggs, so I used a peanut butter filling (3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup peanut butter, beat. add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 3/4 cup confectioner's sugar. incorporate on low, and then beat on medium for 4 minutes.) and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hartskitchen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were really good! Everyone that tried them loved them. I would make them smaller next time around. I also used a filling from another review that uses marshmallow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We added cream cheese for 1/2 of the shortening for more flavor. They're so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
these were really good. I would recommend making them on the smaller side as I made very large ones and some of them broke before we could make them into sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Awesome! You have to try these. I'm not even a big fan of oatmeal cookies, but these changed my mind. Took the suggestion of others, and refrigerated them after baking. I think it brought the flavors of the filling together better so that it didn't taste like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Oh WOW! These are truly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shortcake3210
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious! These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These cookies are awesome but they're too big, especially when the filling is pure delicious fat and there's two cookies instead of one. I make mine mini size. They're still super soft and chewy. I just put the batter in the freezer for about fifteen minutes so they don't come apart during baking. They stay nice and tiny in the oven if you chill them first. I never use egg whites for the filling though, too scary. I've made these cookies three years in a row for cookie exchange and they're just unbeatable even though I have to make three hundred cookies... so worth it. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These were sooo good!! Everyone loved them! I did add about a cup more confectioners sugar to tone down the taste of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States