Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These were EXCELLENT! Please learn from my mistakes. I made them in a whoopie pie pan. It is completely unnecessary to do so, and in fact the pan screwed up the batch. I will have to remake because of the way they turned out. In the meantime, my neighbors and I are eating the screw ups, and yum-o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
These were so sweet it was hard to finish a whole cookie. Also, I could taste the shortening. If I ever make again, I will reduce the shortening to only 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Cookies ended up being more dense than I was expecting. Good for regualr cookies but not whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTTRFLYKISS621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Double Those Stars!!! A very yummy cookie from a "Little Debbie Oatmeal pie" addict. A crispy outside, chewy inside bit of magic! I cooked for the minimum to keep them chewy. If you do the same, just put some foil on the cooling rack or the cookies will fall through. Thanks for a tasty change from the ho hum choc. chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I'm thinking this cookie will never get a bad review! I read some of the notes and baked mine for 8.5 minutes plus I used a marshmallow/powdered sugar/butter filling. These cookies are just about as perfect as I have ever tasted and after 3 days they are better than the first day. Thank you for the recipe and all of the great tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baumanns
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
DELICIOUS! I took a previous poster's advice and did 1/2 c shortening, 1 regular-sized jar of marshmellow fluff, 1/3 c powdered sugar and 3 tsp of hot water for the icing. I also cooked the cookies for 9 minutes so they were chewy. YUM YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baumanns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Oatmeal Whoopie Pies' Haiku: "Insanely tasty. Add zucchini and walnuts! Devoured so fast." I made these for a St. Patty's party, so I tinted the frosting green and added grated zucchini and some toasted, chopped walnuts to the cookie mix. They were totally like those oatmeal cream pies that I remember my Dad tucking in my lunchbox when I was a kid. These were seriously good, and I would've enjoyed them just as much w/o the decadent frosting. And yes, there were lots of "Whoopies!" being blurted out in between bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
My fiance and his son CANNOT keep their hands off these whoopie pies! Completely great according to them. I do wish the filling ingredients were increased according to the amount of cookies one can make. Each time I make this dish I do not have enough filling. Will increase next time and see what happens. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'd like to give this five stars but I couldn't bring myself to use the shortening called for in the cream recipe. The cookie made as directed is delicious. Others advised cooking for only 9 minutes but I had to cook for a total of 11, must have been the difference in my oven. I recommend flattening them before baking so they're easier to eat later. I also added a tad of molasses to the cookie batter. I cut the recipe by 3/4 so I came away with 9 cookies and made the following cream mix: 2 tbs. butter, 3/4 c. marshmallow fluff, 1 tbs. cream cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was so excited about these, and they did not turn out well at all. The cookies looked like pancakes as they came out of the oven (they expanded and all mushed into each other, and they were totally flat) and they were rock hard. Not at all what I was expecting. I gave two stars instead of one because they did taste good. I didn't bother making the frosting since it wouldn't have worked out with hard cookies. :( Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States