Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I soured my milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice. Instead of baking this on a oiled baking sheet, I baked this in a greased loaf pan. Right before baking, I drizzled a couple tablespoons of melted butter over the dough in the pan. GREAT breakfast bread. I made a strawberry cream cheese spread to schmear over it--the family flipped for it. I bet this would make an EXCELLENT beer bread using beer in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I used sour cream instead of oil. Turned out okay. I put it in a loaf pan and had to bake for 30min not 20 and i love the taste of it. Recommend adding more salt. Very dense!! But considering the quickness & easy ingredients....its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyAngel101

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is my go to recipe for fresh healthy bread. I use molasses instead of honey. And as others have said, this is a great recipe to add things too. The batch I made tonight included golden raisins and cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and green cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This has become the only bread we have in the house. My mom and I have been using it as a dieting bread. It's only 2 weight watchers points and it's so hearty that after we eat it, we're full all day. It's incredible. Last time I made it I altered the recipe by adding a table spoon of canned pumpkin and a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the dough and an additional teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the top for added flavor and it was exceptional. This isthe perfect low fat quick break and it's easily customized. 10 stars across the board! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used 1 1/2 cups wheat flour, 1/2c wheat bran, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2c rolled oats(I didn't grind them) 1/2c finely chopped walnuts and used about a 1/4c of homemade applesauce that I had to use up instead of the oil. I baked them at 425 in a muffin pan because I made it before in a loaf pan and the middle was raw. These are healthy with a great crust and a nice soft middle thats not too dense. My favorite whole wheat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good as is! Let the oatmeal soak up the milk for a few minutes before forming into an oval and bake as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Excellent, healthy and super quick and easy. I leave out the honey. This is a real find! Love it and so does my family and guests. They are so impressed I baked bread for them. They have no idea how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
5 stars for healthy, easy, and yummy! I added a handful of blueberries and chopped almonds, which add to the healthy yummyness. I also used fat free milk and olive oil, for the sake of health, which makes it totally 100% healthy. The flavor is not spectacular in the sugary/fatty sense, but if you don't mind healthy, it's great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is absolutely amazing! I just tried it, never thought it will come out sooo good from such simple recipe. First when I tasted it while still warm I thought it was bitter but later I ate quarter of it just myself. I was looking to bake something with oatmeal because I have a big bag I bought to bake oatmeal cookies but figured they are too sweet & not too healthy. I added 5 tbs of honey as I like it a little sweet and its healthy enough to afford more honey. Also, cinnamon, cloves, and vanilla. I sifted the flour and used grind oatmeal. I will have this amazing bread every morning for coffee. I cant imagine something so healthy and still tasty. Thanks a lot for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Have a great tip! Instead of milk use water and boil it then add the honey and oil and oatmeal. Soak for 10 minutes. I also did what another reviewer suggested and added cinnamon, vanilla, one egg white half teaspoon soda and threw in some flax seeds. Bread was very pliable and formed a great loaf so I baked it in a loaf pan for 35 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmville, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States