Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love this bread ... I used coconut oil and coconut milk which may have made it took sticky because I had to add more flour to get it to form ... I did attempt to loaf it and it was definitely too small ... I also had too much good in the middle ... But the pieces that turned out were yummy and I can adjust this to work using my ingredients! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this recipe 2 times. First time I made it exactly as the recipe was (except I added a bit more flour once everything was combined to thicken it up like bread dough should be). It was good, but its wheat bread so a bit bland. Second time around, I added some Penzey's Baking spice and vanilla, but I did not add the extra flour at the end. It turned out really good except its a bit crumbly, so next time I will add the extra flour at the end to make it a bit more doughy, and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I agree with other posters, the bread is very dense, but also very good. I used agave instead of honey and did not grind up the oatmeal. Easy, quick and delicious, freezes great too...one suggestion, unless you want a really small loaf I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
As is I think this recipe is worth four stars, it is very good. When you add about two teaspoons of vanilla and a liberal sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter it is worth five stars. I enjoy it plain or with honey, the family likes it plain or with vanilla raspberry jam. This is super easy to make, from getting out the bowl to slicing in to the bread takes only 22 minutes and tastes wonderful--we make this all the time and will continue to. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I am diabetic and have a weakness for bread. White flour and sugar spikes the readings also yeast and I well have history so I stick to WW bread but had run out and was craving for bread. Googled WW bread and found this one. within 10 mins this was in the oven and 20 mins later, home smelling great, a pretty little loaf with coffee - it was scrumptious and I finished it in 4 days. Did wonders to my glucose readings too! Will definitely make it again and again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was surprised by how good this was. The first batch, I followed nearly exactly. The only change I made was using butter instead of vegetable oil (and I didn't grind the oats). Second time, I used water instead of milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It was certainly edible, but not quite as good. Last batch I went back to butter, and still used water instead of milk (I rarely drink it, so I'd have to buy it just for the bread). This was just about right. I'm a lazy cook. I love making food from scratch, but hate kneading and rising bread. This stuff is so easy, just mix it up and throw it on a cookie sheet and voila. It doesn't rise much, but doesn't seem super dense. It is soft and moist. I eat it plain, with butter only, butter and jam, or with soups, spaghetti, meatloaf, whatever. Mine takes 25 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It is a simple and fast recipe. I doubled the recipe, didn't grind the oats, added 2 teaspoons of flax seed, substituted soy milk for milk, added 1 teaspoon of baking soda and baked in 350F for 1 hour as suggested by some viewer. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I found this recipe the day before yesterday and I have already made it THREE DAYS IN A ROW!!! :) It is so good with a warm soup! I did make some changes to the recipe... I did not have any oatmeal on the shelf so I just used 2 cups of whole wheat flour. I also substituted buttermilk for milk, as the buttermilk is thicker and so the batter will not be as runny. The bread turned out wonderful this way! On one loaf, I did one what reviewer suggested and that was to add a little bit of baking soda to the batter.... This made the bread a little less dense. But it was great without the added baking soda, too! The wonderful thing about this bread is that it is VERSATILE! I added shredded cheddar cheese and garlic to one batch. One batch I sprinkled Italian seasoning on top. It is wonderful. Definitely has already become a staple at my house. Thank you Zoe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written but it just didn't come out well. Very bland and wouldn't hold together at all after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is delicious! As a college student who is trying to save money and live a healthy lifestyle, I decided I would try to make my own bread. I am glad I came across this recipe because it was super easy. I substituted oil for applesauce and honey for 1 tbs. of brown sugar and used 1 cup of skim milk. I baked this in a loaf pan and realized that I should have doubled the recipe..oh well :) Came out moist and wonderful. Very happy to find a healthy quick break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Lepien

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States