Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Wish I could give it 4.5. Sometimes the recipe needs tweaking a bit based on the thickness of the batter (it seems a bit inconsistent, so I sometimes have to mess with milk amounts) but it's a great 'bread' recipe for those of us bakers who lack talent with yeast doughs. It's also nice to put in a greased muffin pan to make little muffin/rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElanaTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I thought the honey added a nice touch to the bread, I prefered this bread to the beer bread I made right after I stuck this in the oven. I accidently picked up whole wheat graham flour and I'm not sure what the difference between regular whole wheat flour and the graham flour is. I also left the rolled oats whole. The mix came out kind of runny so I added maybe another half cup of flour (this was before I re-read the reviews while I was waiting)I also put this in a loaf pan. After 20 minutes the very middle was still kind of gooey so I put it back in the oven for 10 minutes. My friend at school always baked treats and bread with whole wheat and brought me some and it lowered my cholesterol and A1C so I'm making more of an effort to learn to do what she did. practise makes perfect. Thank you for the recipe. This was my first attempt at making bread. I will try and double the batch to make it fill the loaf pan more next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This bread is delicious! I actually didn't like it when it first came out of the oven, but by the time it had cooled completely, I'd eaten half the loaf myself! I doubled the recipe and it turned out beautifully and was ridiculously easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The first time that I made this I followed another user's suggestion to add 1/2 cup ground flax seed and the result was extremely dry, crumbly bread. I made it a second time and did not add the flax seed and also increased the honey to 2 TBL and baked it in an 8" square stoneware dish and it was AMAZING! The bread was very moist and not at all crumbly or dry. When I make it again I will try adding 1/4 cup (or less) of the flax seed and see how it effects the bread. I'd love to add the flax (for the health benefits) but 1/2 cup is too much. Perhaps lowering the flour or oats to compensate for the extra flax may work too! Some reviewers have mentioned that the dough was too runny but I did not find that to be the case. I would hesitate to add additional flour because you may end up with dry, crumbly bread! Great recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe is very quick, easy, yummy, and a healthy alternative to white bread. I did have to add about a 1/4 cup of more flour, as 1 cup of flour left the dough very sticky. To ensure that the loaf cooks all the way through, flatten the dough a little once you place it on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is rather dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I was dismayed when the batter was so runny, but i just put it in 6 muffin tins and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. They were good, basic, healthy muffins. I look forward to adding nuts, spices, dried fruit, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is great! I added diced apples, cinnomon, and a little extra honey and I loved it! The only problem was that it needed longer to cook because the inside was still doughy and the outside was getting pretty crisp. I would try making two smaller loaves out of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is the first bread I've ever made - and it actually came out great! I didn't grind the oatmeal, subbed applesauce for oil, soy milk for milk, and 1 Tbsp of splenda for the honey because I didn't have honey. I added about 1/2 C of ground flaxseed, about 1/4 C of unprocessed bran, and some sesame seeds just because I like them. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top and sprayed the top of the dough with spray oil. It turned out dense and soft on the inside with a nice crust. When I made it a 2nd time with less additions, 1 C of milk was too much. I'm going to experiment with more add ins, like seeds or dried fruit. Love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I can't believe how easy and quick this is! I made the recipes exactly as is and the "dough" was very wet. I pushed it onto the pan and loosely shaped with my spatula and after 20 minutes, it was awesome. I love fresh bread in the morning and this one is ready quick enough to make daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States