Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was very tasty. I substituted molasses as i had run out of honey. Turned out great- crisp on the outside, soft yet dense and chewy on the inside. So easy and quick, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Awesome! I was looking for a whole wheat recipe and stumbled on this quick bread. I liked the taste and the fact that it's healthy. I doubled the recipe and baked it at the said temperature and time, and it was brown on the bottom but not cooked completely all the way through. Despite that, I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This didn't turn out for us. I'm not sure if being at a high altitude is what did it, but even right out of the oven, we found it to be pretty hard and fairly dry. We did eat it with butter and honey, and it was an okay breakfast, but we probably won't make it again. Good luck to those at lower altitudes tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Wish I could give it 4.5. Sometimes the recipe needs tweaking a bit based on the thickness of the batter (it seems a bit inconsistent, so I sometimes have to mess with milk amounts) but it's a great 'bread' recipe for those of us bakers who lack talent with yeast doughs. It's also nice to put in a greased muffin pan to make little muffin/rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElanaTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I thought the honey added a nice touch to the bread, I prefered this bread to the beer bread I made right after I stuck this in the oven. I accidently picked up whole wheat graham flour and I'm not sure what the difference between regular whole wheat flour and the graham flour is. I also left the rolled oats whole. The mix came out kind of runny so I added maybe another half cup of flour (this was before I re-read the reviews while I was waiting)I also put this in a loaf pan. After 20 minutes the very middle was still kind of gooey so I put it back in the oven for 10 minutes. My friend at school always baked treats and bread with whole wheat and brought me some and it lowered my cholesterol and A1C so I'm making more of an effort to learn to do what she did. practise makes perfect. Thank you for the recipe. This was my first attempt at making bread. I will try and double the batch to make it fill the loaf pan more next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This bread is delicious! I actually didn't like it when it first came out of the oven, but by the time it had cooled completely, I'd eaten half the loaf myself! I doubled the recipe and it turned out beautifully and was ridiculously easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
The first time that I made this I followed another user's suggestion to add 1/2 cup ground flax seed and the result was extremely dry, crumbly bread. I made it a second time and did not add the flax seed and also increased the honey to 2 TBL and baked it in an 8" square stoneware dish and it was AMAZING! The bread was very moist and not at all crumbly or dry. When I make it again I will try adding 1/4 cup (or less) of the flax seed and see how it effects the bread. I'd love to add the flax (for the health benefits) but 1/2 cup is too much. Perhaps lowering the flour or oats to compensate for the extra flax may work too! Some reviewers have mentioned that the dough was too runny but I did not find that to be the case. I would hesitate to add additional flour because you may end up with dry, crumbly bread! Great recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe is very quick, easy, yummy, and a healthy alternative to white bread. I did have to add about a 1/4 cup of more flour, as 1 cup of flour left the dough very sticky. To ensure that the loaf cooks all the way through, flatten the dough a little once you place it on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is rather dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States