Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
tried it a second time... still too dense... and it's rock hard... not sure if it goes with butter and honey on a cold morning at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is SO easy and pretty healthy. I made the whole thing in the food processor (less bowls to clean). I ground up the oatmeal, then added the rest of the dry ingredients (i added 2Tblspn ground flax seeds to boost the nutrition, some pumpkin seeds, and a little extra salt.) Then i mixed up all the wet ingredients as directed (used soy milk instead of milk, and a little extra honey), added that to the food processor, and whirled it until is formed a dough. I used an ungreased non stick loaf pan. Turned out yummy. Next time i might add an egg to the wet, i think it might do good things for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Made a single serving spread across three mini muffin cups. Didn't grind oatmeal, used soy milk, and added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. Baked for seven minutes in those three mini muffin cups. Very easy and was delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Pretty good. Had with soup for dinner and it was OK. Looking forward to a slice for breakfast with jam. Seems like it needs a little more sweetness/flavor. Couldn't be easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Yum! This bread is really good! I made it to eat with soup for supper. It was delicious warm with jam on top. Not only is it very quick and easy, but it tastes great and is healthy as well! I had problems with runny batter, so I ran to the computer to see if other reviewers had this problem and see what they did to correct it. However, when I got back, my batter had thickened up enough to put on a baking pan. So if you have problems with runny batter, let it sit for a few minutes! Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was very tasty. I substituted molasses as i had run out of honey. Turned out great- crisp on the outside, soft yet dense and chewy on the inside. So easy and quick, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Awesome! I was looking for a whole wheat recipe and stumbled on this quick bread. I liked the taste and the fact that it's healthy. I doubled the recipe and baked it at the said temperature and time, and it was brown on the bottom but not cooked completely all the way through. Despite that, I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This didn't turn out for us. I'm not sure if being at a high altitude is what did it, but even right out of the oven, we found it to be pretty hard and fairly dry. We did eat it with butter and honey, and it was an okay breakfast, but we probably won't make it again. Good luck to those at lower altitudes tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Wish I could give it 4.5. Sometimes the recipe needs tweaking a bit based on the thickness of the batter (it seems a bit inconsistent, so I sometimes have to mess with milk amounts) but it's a great 'bread' recipe for those of us bakers who lack talent with yeast doughs. It's also nice to put in a greased muffin pan to make little muffin/rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElanaTM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States