Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I put the dough in a small bread pan to bake. It is too thin to try to shape. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Our students in our "Life Skills" class at Gainesville High School has made this recipe several times. We all like it alot, but the last time we made it, we spooned the batter into a muffin tin. It was delicious! The bread was softer and more tender. Maybe because it wasn't handled at all. We also added dried cranberries to give it a little sweetness. We love this bread! It is a great, healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was great,I reduced the honey and added minced garlic and some good quality salt on top.I did not grind the oats just put them in whole.It was baked on a cookie sheet, I just poured it on the sheet and let it shape itself. I also added about half a cup of wheat germ mixed with ground flaxseed.This recipe is a good one to add things to for either a sweet bread or a herb bread. Next time thinking of adding chopped pear,walnuts, and maybe cheddar cheese when its about done. Love these kind of recipes thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is good bread, especially for how easy it is. I don't process the oats, & I have used rolled oats and quick oats and they were both fine. I have also doubled the recipe & baked it in a loaf pan. It is so quick to throw together, it can be ready by the time the oven is preheated! I like it warm with butter. It's pretty crumbly, so I don't think it would be good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
couldn't be quicker or easier to make; mind, it doesn't rise much, the result is a bit dense and hearty. I didn't process the oats, I thought if I'm being lazy and have no time to wait the normal yeast rising process an'all, well, so the minimum amount of fuss it shall be: but it was ok, expecially served hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I like this bread because of how fast and easy it is to make, but if you're looking for sandwich bread, look elsewhere. It's good for serving as a side to a meal or spread with something for breakfast. I made the mistake of pouring the batter into a large loaf pan. It doesn't really rise, so it came out about an inch or two tall! It still tastes good, though! It's pretty healthy, too, so I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Doubled the recipe as other reviewers mentioned so I could make a full loaf. Cooked at 350 degrees for 55 min. Did not have whole wheat flour on hand, so substituted white. Delicious warm with butter. Not real sweet, but hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
very yummy healthy bread! tastes wonderful, thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this when I wanted a bread in 30 minutes instead of the 3 hours it takes in my bread maker. It was very moist and good with butter! I would add more cinnamon and nutmeg to add some flavor to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was SO easy! I have been making a lot of yeast breads lately and this was such a quick and easy bread by comparison. I used soy milk instead of milk and didn't grind any of the ingredients. It was a very hearty, dense bread with nice sweetness. It was a big hit with my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States