Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This a great simple recipe! A definite keeper! I followed the advice from some other reviews and doubled the recipe and baked it for 1 hour at 350. I added 1/8 flax seed, 1/4 sunflower seeds, and substituded unsweet applesauce for the oil. I can't wait to make it again and add some other stuff like raisins or chopped walnuts. This bread is very dense, practically a meal by itself. I ate it this morning toasted with pumpkin butter! OMG, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Following other reviewers advice, I doubled the recipe and used a loaf pan. Other than that, I made no alterations. I found the texture of the bread perfect, but the flavor a tiny bit bland. I think it needs either a little more salt or a little more honey to really be a knockout. However, I can't fault it for its simplicity or its healthiness! I can see this being great with cinnamon and nuts, or mixed dried fruit, or topped with streusel....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Due to my corn allergy I had to pull out the baking powder and do the baking soda/apple cider vinegar substitution... also had to skip the honey, good news is - I just don't think you can mess this one up. This bread will be a staple in my house now - thank you so much for posting the recipe, I can eat bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I've tried it with honey but I prefer molasses. Molasses gives it a richer taste and darker colour. Yum! The size of the loaf is fine for me, since I am the only one eating it. And I don't ground the oats, this way the bread is chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I put the dough in a small bread pan to bake. It is too thin to try to shape. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Our students in our "Life Skills" class at Gainesville High School has made this recipe several times. We all like it alot, but the last time we made it, we spooned the batter into a muffin tin. It was delicious! The bread was softer and more tender. Maybe because it wasn't handled at all. We also added dried cranberries to give it a little sweetness. We love this bread! It is a great, healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was great,I reduced the honey and added minced garlic and some good quality salt on top.I did not grind the oats just put them in whole.It was baked on a cookie sheet, I just poured it on the sheet and let it shape itself. I also added about half a cup of wheat germ mixed with ground flaxseed.This recipe is a good one to add things to for either a sweet bread or a herb bread. Next time thinking of adding chopped pear,walnuts, and maybe cheddar cheese when its about done. Love these kind of recipes thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is good bread, especially for how easy it is. I don't process the oats, & I have used rolled oats and quick oats and they were both fine. I have also doubled the recipe & baked it in a loaf pan. It is so quick to throw together, it can be ready by the time the oven is preheated! I like it warm with butter. It's pretty crumbly, so I don't think it would be good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
couldn't be quicker or easier to make; mind, it doesn't rise much, the result is a bit dense and hearty. I didn't process the oats, I thought if I'm being lazy and have no time to wait the normal yeast rising process an'all, well, so the minimum amount of fuss it shall be: but it was ok, expecially served hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I like this bread because of how fast and easy it is to make, but if you're looking for sandwich bread, look elsewhere. It's good for serving as a side to a meal or spread with something for breakfast. I made the mistake of pouring the batter into a large loaf pan. It doesn't really rise, so it came out about an inch or two tall! It still tastes good, though! It's pretty healthy, too, so I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States