Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very yummy & very quick! Size of loaf is just right for 2 people for dinner with some leftovers. Loved how fast & easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made this for my grandparents and they absolutely loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and added 2tbsps of ground flax seed to the dry ingredients for a little extra nutrition. I baked this up in the morning and was surprised to see that 3/4 of the loaf was gone by evening! My grandmother keeps eating it as is without any spread and grandpa had a few slices with cream cheese. I haven't tried it and probably won't since there are only two slices left! But from what I can see, this is definitely a five star recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I cut the recipe in half, and added about a Tablespoon of garlic powder to it. I ran out of honey after 1 teaspoon, so I used 1.25 teaspoons of corn syrup. That may be what gave this a sightly off taste. My batch did not form a 'soft dough' of any kind; it was definitely batter, so I plopped it into a greased mini-loaf pan and cooked it at 450 for 20 minutes. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very good! And super super easy and using common ingredients, which is basically all I look for in a recipe! (Substitutions I made: white flour for whole wheat, maple syrup for honey, and soy milk for regular milk) Definitely not a sandwich bread, but a very good munching bread! Next time I'll probably double the recipe as the loaf is kinda small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I made this the other night for my first attempt at making bread, i thought it was delicious! I used vanilla soy milk because that is what i had on hand in place of the dairy milk. I used old fashioned oats (the kind i use with oatmeal) because that is also what was in the house. I did not double the recipe and bake in a regular bread pan like others had suggested because i did not want to waist any if it did not turn out good. I added a little maple syrup because my boyfriend has a huge sweet tooth and i was trying to help hide the taste of wheat flour. I also accidentally forgot to grease the pan i was using (I used a glass 9x12 i believe) and i did not really have a problem with it sticking at all. Will defiantly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blover4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orono, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this today with a few substitutions. First, I doubled the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan at a lower temp for an hour, as suggested by previous reviewers. I used non-fat dry milk powder and water in place of the milk, an equal amount of Splenda in place of the honey and eliminated the salt (trying to cut back on sodium). I also didn't grind up the oats since I like the texture they add to my baked goods. I took another reviewer's advice about making sure to grease the pan well - I used a cooking spray and also placed some parchment paper in the pan. Worked like a charm! The bread came out wonderfully. This is such a delicious and easy recipe for making a whole wheat bread. Next time I make it, I am going to try using Fiber One cereal in place of part of the oatmeal in order to pump up the fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryp539

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
very good. i had to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour. it was way too soupy. i also baked it in a loaf pan. "mo mo, peez" was what my two year old had to say about it (more please). awesome with butter and honey the next morning! i can see why some people might think it's too plain. you have to appreciate the flavor of the oat and wheat, as that is what shines through. perfect for me and my family. oh, it is crumbly to slice right after baking. however, the next day it slices much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This a great simple recipe! A definite keeper! I followed the advice from some other reviews and doubled the recipe and baked it for 1 hour at 350. I added 1/8 flax seed, 1/4 sunflower seeds, and substituded unsweet applesauce for the oil. I can't wait to make it again and add some other stuff like raisins or chopped walnuts. This bread is very dense, practically a meal by itself. I ate it this morning toasted with pumpkin butter! OMG, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Following other reviewers advice, I doubled the recipe and used a loaf pan. Other than that, I made no alterations. I found the texture of the bread perfect, but the flavor a tiny bit bland. I think it needs either a little more salt or a little more honey to really be a knockout. However, I can't fault it for its simplicity or its healthiness! I can see this being great with cinnamon and nuts, or mixed dried fruit, or topped with streusel....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Due to my corn allergy I had to pull out the baking powder and do the baking soda/apple cider vinegar substitution... also had to skip the honey, good news is - I just don't think you can mess this one up. This bread will be a staple in my house now - thank you so much for posting the recipe, I can eat bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States