Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The dough was too soft, so I had to add about 1/2 c more flour. The cooking time was also too short. I think I had to keep the bread in the oven for another 5-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I tried going for more of a multi-grain bread, so I added 1/2 c. corn meal and 1/4 c. shelled sunflower seeds. Also increased the baking powder to 2 tsp and the oil to 1.5 tbsp to compensate for the extra volume. Like other bakers I also slightly increased the honey to 2 tbsp. It was delicious!! Can't wait to make it again . . . might try adding some sesame seeds, too. Baked for about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I have to differ that this bread is GREAT. The taste was great BUT I feel like I made a huge muffin in terms of the crumbly consistency of this bread. Maybe this happened because I did not grind the oatmeal. I did soak it in the milk for 10 minutes though. I loved the neutral taste of this dough and I added some sesame seeds on top before baking. I might try baking this dough in muffin cups next time because it is perfect for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALU911
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great and fast! I did add some cinnamon and would probably add just a dash more next time. It smelled great baking. I also did use olive oil instead of vegetable, and even as someone who does not like the taste of olive oil, it was a great substitution, you couldn't taste it. I also didn't grind up the oatmeal. I think next time I want to substitute some of the whole wheat flour for something more grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very good, healthy and hearty bread. Its quick, fairly cheap to make and always pleases. Ive added fruits and nuts, even chocolate to the bread to mix it up. I however did add a 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda to the recipe, it makes the bread rise and puff up a bit more, makes it a bit less dense. Great bread for any meal and its prepped in just minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I put them in two mini loaf pans and it turned out great! Now I will try changes and use applesauce instead of olive oil that I used. Wonderful bread, thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I'm so happy I found this recipe. The batter seemed to have too much liquid at first so I added more flour. I think I added too much and the loaf come out a little dry (but still tasty!). I'll definately make this again and try to be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The taste would have been great, however the cook time is off. I took the bread out after 25 minutes and it was still very doughy. I should have left it in there for a total of 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beccahhh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. This is a poor-man's bread. In these hard times it is perfect. I did not use whole wheat bread(didn't have any) and put the dough in a loaf pan. My children gobbled this up. We made this for breakfast with butter, jam and apple butter. Great for any meal and for a quick snack. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is wonderful base recipe for quick bread. It does make a rather small loaf (I started out with the original amounts to test it, though I wish I'd doubled it!), and I highly recommend add-ins: flax seed, sunflower seeds, any sort of fruit or spice you could think of...The bread itself is delicious with butter or jam, but adding spices or fruits would make it a great sweet bread, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States