Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Very tasty. I have made this bread several times now and it always turns out well. It is a good recipe for add-ins. For example. try throwing in a handful of shredded American cheese for a cheesy bread. Also, when you make this bread, do be sure to measure in the oil before adding the honey. This way, you have an oiled spoon to measure the honey with, and the honey just slides out nicely instead of sticking to the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Nice wheat taste, not too sweet. I didn't feel like grinding up the oatmeal, and it turned out fine. However, the batter was too runny to just slap on a baking sheet, so I put it in a pan. If you do so, beware: grease the pan very well, as this bread likes to stick! This was EXTREMELY fast; from start to finish it took no more than 25-30 minutes. The finished product is very small; if you want a real-sized loaf I suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This was a great recipe. My first non-sweet bread recipe I've made from scratch. Very tasty and delicious. I did as others recommended, and doubled the recipe to create a full-size loaf. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour in a loaf pan, and that was perfect. Substitutes I did: Skim milk instead of whole. Extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I added 1/2 cup of ground flax seeds. Both the olive oil and ground flax added healthy fats to the bread, and the flax also added a little extra fiber and protein. I also didn't grind the oats, either. I like having big pieces of grain in my breads. Thanks for sharing your recipe! It's so nice baking bread at home so you can control what goes into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I originally chose this recipe because it was full of healthy stuff, but I will continue making it because it is absolutely delicious! I made the following substitutions to make it a little healthier: 2 tbsp sugar-free maple syrup for the 1.2 tbsp honey and 1 tbsp natural applesauce for the 1 tbsp vegetable oil. I also made these additions for flavor: 3/4 cup raisins, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp imitation vanilla. Also, I did not grind the oatmeal and found that I would prefer it this way. I used 1/2 cup skim milk + 1/2 cup 2% milk and would recommend this as well. I love to eat this for breakfast in the morning spread with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I didn't like how the first loaf came out so small, so I modified a few things and baked it again a few hours later so that I could get the desired result. Consequently, I doubled the recipe, put the batter into a greased loaf pan, and baked it for 1 hour at 350 F. Both loaves were dense (like the recipe said that they'd be) and yummy (esp. with butter/jam/whatever on a slice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PerkyKoala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Ongwediva, Oshana, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Five stars for simplicity, healthfulness, taste, texture, and versatility. This bread turned out better than I thought it would. I doubled the ingredients and poured the batter/dough into a loaf pan. I baked it at a slighly lower temperature for a bit longer, and it turned out beautifully. I did cover the loaf with foil about halfway through the baking time. I only substituted one ingredient: I used vanilla soy milk instead of cow's milk - I realized as I combined the dry ingredients that I was out! The vanilla flavor did wonders for the bread. It's a tinge sweeter, I think, than if I had used regular milk. It made my home smell wonderful, too, as it baked. I will definitely make this bread again, probably substituting something else (applesauce or yogurt) for the oil and I may add other fruits, nuts, or seeds if something catches my fancy. All in all, a fabulously simple, tasty, and nutritious bread. Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I soured my milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice. Instead of baking this on a oiled baking sheet, I baked this in a greased loaf pan. Right before baking, I drizzled a couple tablespoons of melted butter over the dough in the pan. GREAT breakfast bread. I made a strawberry cream cheese spread to schmear over it--the family flipped for it. I bet this would make an EXCELLENT beer bread using beer in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is the first bread I've ever made - and it actually came out great! I didn't grind the oatmeal, subbed applesauce for oil, soy milk for milk, and 1 Tbsp of splenda for the honey because I didn't have honey. I added about 1/2 C of ground flaxseed, about 1/4 C of unprocessed bran, and some sesame seeds just because I like them. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top and sprayed the top of the dough with spray oil. It turned out dense and soft on the inside with a nice crust. When I made it a 2nd time with less additions, 1 C of milk was too much. I'm going to experiment with more add ins, like seeds or dried fruit. Love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I bake bread nearly every week, and as we were just about out of bread and out of yeast (and the store didn't have any yeast in stock!), I was looking for a good whole-grain quick bread. This recipe looked like it fit the bill. As others had suggested, I doubled the recipe, used a loaf pan, and baked it for an hour at 350F. I used maple syrup instead of honey and, lazy me, didn't grind the oats. The taste is excellent, and the texture is definitely dense and hearty. This is not a bread one could use for sandwiches, so I'll have to bake something else in a day or two, but I'm glad to have this very quick and delicious recipe. I may try to process the oats a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Good country-style bread...if you have kids you may want to add a little extra honey. A great recipe for a pretty loaf of bread that doesn't require "rise" time. I recommend slicing an "X" in the top of loaf with a sharp knife before baking so finished product looks even prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States