Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This bread turned out so much better than I was expecting. I will be making this for breakfast on the weekend for years to come! I ran out of honey so I had to sub in some maple, but it turned out perfectly. Also used quick oats instead of rolled oats. Topped it off with some extra quick oats... mmm. yummy. perfect with some butter and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kchris
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love this! I made one recipe in two mini loaf tins, and they were perfect! I also took the previous advice and added cinnamon and vanilla extract and also sprayed the tins and tops of the loaves with butter PAM before cooking (20 min @ 435deg). The bread is slightly sweet and kind of reminds me of bran muffins. Easy, healthy, delicious. . . I'll definitely be making this often! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kchris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Nice dinner change up from cornbread or biscuits. I was surprised how moist it was. Would be great with soups or stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARYL4
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
In all honesty, I felt this was a 4 star. I did sub corn syrup for the honey, as I was out. That might be what makes this recipe. For my taste, it was very bland. I will try it again with honey ! Thanks for sharing this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Incredibly simple with good results: with supervision my not-quite-five-year-old granddaughter could do well with this. I'd recommend raising the flour content to 1½ cups of whole wheat, and boosting the baking powder to a full tablespoon. I say this because my initial observation of the dough ready to bake was rather soft/sticky. ALSO: a pizza stone dusted generously with cornmeal is a first-rate baking surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1940 LaSalle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Absolutely tasty, wonderful bread! Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this bread this afternoon, and it was my very first loaf of bread that came out good. It was terribly easy!! I didn't grind the oatmeal, and doubled the recipe per suggestions. It perfectly filled my standard bread pan. I was looking for a bread that didn't require yeast and/or kneading, since I am pregnant with a toddler "helping". Haha!! This was delish! Served with homemade chicken soup tonight and my family raved. enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Mmmmm... very tasty! I've made it twice in the span of 1 week now. The first time I made a double batch and put it all into one loaf. One word of advice for doubling it and making one big loaf: DON'T! Mine was raw in the middle. I toasted it and it was fine, but yeesh. The second time I tripled the batch and made 3 tbsp-scoop size drop biscuits. THOSE are excellent! The biscuits baked in about 30 minutes at 350 degrees F. (I didn't want to bake 'em at 450 for fear they'd become charcoal briquettes!) Delicious, slightly sweet, and satisfying either way! Thanks for the recipe (sung to the tune of "Thanks for the Memories :) Sorry, feeling silly!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Love this bread and how easy it was too make. I too doubled the recipe and baked in loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITZZY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was good. I didn't grind the oats, but that was the only change I made. The batter was kind of runny, so I had to put it in a pan to bake. 20 minutes wasn't quite long enough, next time I'll do a little more. I'll also add cinnamon next time. But other than that, this was a tasty, quick breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States