Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is rather dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I was dismayed when the batter was so runny, but i just put it in 6 muffin tins and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. They were good, basic, healthy muffins. I look forward to adding nuts, spices, dried fruit, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is great! I added diced apples, cinnomon, and a little extra honey and I loved it! The only problem was that it needed longer to cook because the inside was still doughy and the outside was getting pretty crisp. I would try making two smaller loaves out of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is the first bread I've ever made - and it actually came out great! I didn't grind the oatmeal, subbed applesauce for oil, soy milk for milk, and 1 Tbsp of splenda for the honey because I didn't have honey. I added about 1/2 C of ground flaxseed, about 1/4 C of unprocessed bran, and some sesame seeds just because I like them. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top and sprayed the top of the dough with spray oil. It turned out dense and soft on the inside with a nice crust. When I made it a 2nd time with less additions, 1 C of milk was too much. I'm going to experiment with more add ins, like seeds or dried fruit. Love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I can't believe how easy and quick this is! I made the recipes exactly as is and the "dough" was very wet. I pushed it onto the pan and loosely shaped with my spatula and after 20 minutes, it was awesome. I love fresh bread in the morning and this one is ready quick enough to make daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I doubled the recipe, slightly increased the honey (by 1Tbsp) and baked it off in the bread machine. It turned out great. I was really pleased with the texture and it thoroughly cooked through in the 1 hour standard cooking time in the machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Petofibanya, Heves, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Just what I was hoping for in a healthy quick bread! Flavor is great. I doubled recipe and added wheat germ (3T) and sunflower seeds (1T)and baked for about 52 min.@ 350. Sprinkled the bread with additional oatmeal and sunflower seeds. Doubling the recipe yields a substantial loaf. Excellent fresh out of the oven! Thank you for posting; I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was a pretty good healthy tasting quick bread. I ate it with a honey butter spread. It was very easy to make. Since the batter was soft, I just put it on a nonstick sheet (you can use parchment paper) and formed a round shape with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This didn't taste very good to me. It was very very dry and crumbly. Also took longer to cook than the recipe states. I ended up throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
A great quick bread! I was looking for an alternate to making a yeast bread because I was short on time. This one hit the spot! Like others I doubled the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan at 350 for 1 hour. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States