Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this when I wanted a bread in 30 minutes instead of the 3 hours it takes in my bread maker. It was very moist and good with butter! I would add more cinnamon and nutmeg to add some flavor to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was SO easy! I have been making a lot of yeast breads lately and this was such a quick and easy bread by comparison. I used soy milk instead of milk and didn't grind any of the ingredients. It was a very hearty, dense bread with nice sweetness. It was a big hit with my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. It was easily adapted to a bread machine. First of all double the recipe so that it makes a regular sized loaf of bread. I also added two eggs. Just put two eggs into a two cup measuring cup and beat well. Add milk to make two cups. Put the milk mixture into the bread machine along with the oil and honey. Add the processed oats, flour, baking powder, and salt. I also added some fennel and sesame seeds. Finally, use the quick bread setting on the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
tried it a second time... still too dense... and it's rock hard... not sure if it goes with butter and honey on a cold morning at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is SO easy and pretty healthy. I made the whole thing in the food processor (less bowls to clean). I ground up the oatmeal, then added the rest of the dry ingredients (i added 2Tblspn ground flax seeds to boost the nutrition, some pumpkin seeds, and a little extra salt.) Then i mixed up all the wet ingredients as directed (used soy milk instead of milk, and a little extra honey), added that to the food processor, and whirled it until is formed a dough. I used an ungreased non stick loaf pan. Turned out yummy. Next time i might add an egg to the wet, i think it might do good things for the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Made a single serving spread across three mini muffin cups. Didn't grind oatmeal, used soy milk, and added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. Baked for seven minutes in those three mini muffin cups. Very easy and was delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Pretty good. Had with soup for dinner and it was OK. Looking forward to a slice for breakfast with jam. Seems like it needs a little more sweetness/flavor. Couldn't be easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Yum! This bread is really good! I made it to eat with soup for supper. It was delicious warm with jam on top. Not only is it very quick and easy, but it tastes great and is healthy as well! I had problems with runny batter, so I ran to the computer to see if other reviewers had this problem and see what they did to correct it. However, when I got back, my batter had thickened up enough to put on a baking pan. So if you have problems with runny batter, let it sit for a few minutes! Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was very tasty. I substituted molasses as i had run out of honey. Turned out great- crisp on the outside, soft yet dense and chewy on the inside. So easy and quick, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States