Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Followed recipe exactly, used soy milk, dough was very dry, was barely able to form it into a ball. Baked @ 450 for 20 min and outside ok but middle wasn't cooked. May try again in 2 mini loaf pans as previous reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
This was quick, easy, and just what I was craving. I added about a 1/2 cup of extra flour and an extra tbsp of honey and then baked it in a loaf pan. It turned out just like store-bought bread, except I knew it was free of high fructose corn syrup and additives! The only thing I will do differently next time is to double the recipe to have a full loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This recipe was perfect. it baked up so fast and moist - will definitely become a staple in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This delicious bread is both hearty and healthy. It's also very easy and quick to make. My 17-month-old son ate about half the loaf in a day. It's perfect with honey on top. A new favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This was great! The honey is nearly imperceptible, but I don't need my bread sweet, so this recipe fit the bill! Yeild is one really small loaf, so next time I'll double the recipe to make proper-sized bread slices. I baked for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Fantastic & absurdly simple! My 93 year old grandmother could have eaten the whole loaf. I will be making this often. Thanks Zoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I wanted a no yeast bread recipe because sometimes I feel that regular bread can make you feel bloated. I tried this recipe, adding about 1/3 cup extra whole wheat flour, and used steel cut oats instead of regular oatmeal ground in the blender. I also used 1/2 whole and 1/2 skim milk. I greased the cookie sheet well, baked it at 375 degrees, for about 23 minutes until the bottom sounded hollow when tapped. We LOVE it! It's like dessert, atleast to us since we try to eat super healthy. It reminds me of corn bread, except it's better. Great plain, with butter, or jam. Even my 8 year old daughter loves it. This will definately become a regular staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I only had instant oatmeal on hand, so I used that instead of rolled oats. I also replaced the oil with a heaping spoonful of homemade applesauce to make it totally fat free. I was pressed for time, so I just dumped the batter into an 8 by 4 loaf pan instead of shaping it. I left it in the oven for a little longer than 20 minutes, so it was on the crusty side. Since I love crusty bread, it was perfect! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I love how fast and easy this bread is to make. I never grind the oatmeal and it turns out fine. The dough is too runny to form into a ball so I just scrape it onto the baking sheet with a rubber scraper. I tried it once in a bread pan, but the inside took too long to bake. I may try it again using another reviewer's suggestion to lower the temp to 350 and bake for 1 hour. The taste is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Really a very easy bread to make, best if eaten the next day. I don't recommend baking at 350 for an hour, because the crust gets very tough that way. Goes very well with cream cheese or pumpkin butter =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States