Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Good country-style bread...if you have kids you may want to add a little extra honey. A great recipe for a pretty loaf of bread that doesn't require "rise" time. I recommend slicing an "X" in the top of loaf with a sharp knife before baking so finished product looks even prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This was great! The honey is nearly imperceptible, but I don't need my bread sweet, so this recipe fit the bill! Yeild is one really small loaf, so next time I'll double the recipe to make proper-sized bread slices. I baked for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Fantastic & absurdly simple! My 93 year old grandmother could have eaten the whole loaf. I will be making this often. Thanks Zoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is a great quick bread. I was home on break from college and we didn't have any wheat bread in the house, so I pulled up this recipe. It's so quick and easy, and we had all the ingredients already! Not to mention it's really delicious, especially with orange maramelade :-) I made the bread in two mini-loaf pans, in the oven for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I really liked this bread even though it was quite dense. It was quick and easy - great if you want to make something fresh and last minute! I had to add a bit more flour to the dough so that I could form it into a ball - it was quite runny with the measurements given. I think I'm going to play around with the recipe, try it with some yeast, so that it's more like a real bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Nice wheat taste, not too sweet. I didn't feel like grinding up the oatmeal, and it turned out fine. However, the batter was too runny to just slap on a baking sheet, so I put it in a pan. If you do so, beware: grease the pan very well, as this bread likes to stick! This was EXTREMELY fast; from start to finish it took no more than 25-30 minutes. The finished product is very small; if you want a real-sized loaf I suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
The taste was pretty good, but it took much longer than 20 minutes in the oven to cook all the way through! By the time the inside was cooked, the outside was very hard and crusty. My kids and I were a bit disappointed, as our mouths were watering for fresh bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This recipe didn't turn out at all for me. The bread was very flat and hard and didn't have a good flavor. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I've been looking for a lower calorie baked good for breakfast, and this was perfect. The unbaked dough tasted a little bland, so I added a dash of cinnamon. I did not process the oatmeal. I baked it in a 9x9 pan, and it took about 15 minutes. I cut it into 9 squares, and ate it topped with just a touch of apple jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I didn't like how the first loaf came out so small, so I modified a few things and baked it again a few hours later so that I could get the desired result. Consequently, I doubled the recipe, put the batter into a greased loaf pan, and baked it for 1 hour at 350 F. Both loaves were dense (like the recipe said that they'd be) and yummy (esp. with butter/jam/whatever on a slice)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PerkyKoala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Ongwediva, Oshana, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States