Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious, hearty, and healthful! I followed the suggestions of others and doubled the recipe. I also made some substitutions. I used 1 cup 2% and 1 cup skim milk. Instead of all rolled oats, I used 1 cup whole brown flax seeds and 1 cup quick cooking oats. At the suggestions of others, I baked it at 350 for an hour in a bread pan. I covered it up after 30 minutes of baking as the top was starting to get brown but the inside was not near ready. The loaf of bread is beautiful! The top is nice and crusty while the inside is moist and flavorful! I will be making this again! I wouldn't recommend this as a sandwich bread, but I think it will be good warmed up with butter or even toasted with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
ok, a little dry and crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This bread tastes great! I only gave it 3 stars because the recipe as written was to runny to make a dough you could put on a baking sheet. Like others I had to go ahead and double the recipe and pour into a loaf pan and like others baked at 350^ for an hour. Thanks for posting and thanks to all who had great fixes to save this. It does taste great with some jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious! And sooooo easy! I followed the recipe exactly, and followed what others have suggested by baking it in a bread pan, and adding a dash of vanilla. This bread took no effort and was so rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was an awesome bread. And so easy and quick!--not to mention healthy. My 21-year-old son ate a whole loaf at once (I thought the dogs had gotten it!) and my partner and I split the other one! So much for making bread for the week! I used loaf pans as the dough seemed a little loose to form into a ball. Next time I'm going to oil them better, as the crust stuck to the pan a little. But no matter, it was delicious with butter. I also used King Arthur's white whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
So yummy! I made it vegan by using soy milk and agave nectar (instead of honey)...This will certainly be a favorite around my house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great base to work from. I doubled as recommended by others. And here are my suggestions....Added 1/2 cup of flaxmeal, 1/4 cup high fibre oatbran, used applesauce instead of oil, 3/4 cup raisins, dash of vanilla, and 1-2 tsps of cinnamon. If I wouldn't have added in the extra bran and flax I think 2 cups of milk would have been a tad to much. You can alter this recipe very easy. (would have been 5 stars...but I did change it up a bit) I'm looking forward to trying a piece out in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Clever and quick makes a great base for add in's YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love this quick bread. It is a wholesome, hearty bread. Quick and easy to prepare. It is difficult to shape as others have noted. I add extra oatmeal (unground or very lightly ground) to help it hold its shape as well as let it set a few minutes before shaping. I also add ground flax-seed for extra nutrion. Made a GREAT sweet bread by adding approx 1/5 cup of cocoa powder, 1/2 banana and chocolate chips. Fabulous hot out of the oven!! I baked at 350 for a while and then covered tops with tinfoil and turned oven up to 390. Does take longer, but turned out better than when I baked it at 450. Can't wait to try it with a yummy cheese, sundried tomatoes and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is very good but I have trouble getting it to rise while baking. It usually ends up being a rather flat loaf of bread, but it's still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States