Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Very quick to make. Ground my oatmeal in the food processor then pulsed it after all of the ingredients were added until a ball formed. Placed in a greased loaf pan and baked 20 minutes. A dense loaf. Served it with a tomato based veggie soup. Delicious with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe for me, as I don't own a bread machine. I love how easy it was to throw together and how healthy it is. It's very heavy, but still delicious with a bit of butter right out of the oven. Next time I will use maple syrup instead of honey because everyone in my house likes sweet bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was good ... different and good and very easy to make. I did what was recommended most and that was to double the recipe and bake for an hour in a well greased loaf pan which I am glad I did. The dough is too loose to cook any other way and you need to double the recipe to make a loaf. I processed half the oats and left the other half whole but next time will use all whole. I also used 2% milk with no problem. My loaf baked in 50 minutes. This bread was wholesome with a quick bread consistency and an undertone of sweetness from the oatmeal, honey and wholewheat. I enjoyed it most when toasted with a pat of butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was my first time making bread and so I was a little nervous. But this bread was amazing. I made it with just white flour cause I don't have whole wheat and substituted oil for applesauce then baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
phenomenal. I usually add yogurt instead of milk, cut out the oil, add raisins (~1/2 C) or chocolate chips to be really decadent. I make it into 2 med loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is a really good recipe. I made the batter, but it seemed a little liquidy, so I made mini muffins instead. They turned out wonderful. They're perfect for a quick and healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I follow the same steps as it shows but my bread tasted very bitter :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Love this! I followed another user's review by doubling it to 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 cups oats, and 1/4 flaxseed. This bread it delicious when its toasted! I'm actually about to go make another loaf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great Recipe. I took more oats than it called for though. Although that was FINE with me, I love oats! Very healthy and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This bread was very easy to make, rose very well, and had a nice texture. However, I thought it tasted terrible. All I could taste was the Baking Soda, which I hate. I think I will try it again with half the BS and cook it in the microwave to give it a bit more lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States