Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was good. I didn't grind the oats, but that was the only change I made. The batter was kind of runny, so I had to put it in a pan to bake. 20 minutes wasn't quite long enough, next time I'll do a little more. I'll also add cinnamon next time. But other than that, this was a tasty, quick breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We made this using white flour, and upped the honey to 2 Tbsp; it was awesome!! My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Just made this bread, it has a slightly bitter taste even after tasting the raw dough and adding a little extra honey to try to offset it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Reducing the liquid by 1/6 helps the dough keep its form while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great healthy bread. I am a runner, so I like healthy recipes and this is one I give 5 stars. You dont need a breadmaker..so its easy! It is awesome right out of the oven. Its great with natural peanut butter...great snack before a run!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I've done this both with and without grinding the oats, and while it does hold together better after grinding, it was still good without grinding. Since I don't have whole-wheat flour, I used all-purpose. Extra flour seems to be needed to hold the bread together with all-purpose, as I couldn't form the dough into a ball without it. I like to use partly-crystallized honey for this recipe, and triple the honey for a sweeter bread (this could have added to my goopy dough). The solid crystals of honey melt in the oven and create "sweet spots" in the bread. The effect is subtle, but pleasant. Since trying this recipe and learning how wonderful quick breads can be, I've started experimenting with other recipes as well. While there is something different about yeast breads, I find the quick breads so much easier and just as enjoyable in their own way. I might start keeping a tub of pre-ground oatmeal on hand just for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is a good quick bread! I was looking for a quick bread that was hearty, healthy, and not decidedly sweet like a pumpkin or zucchini bread. This fit the bill really well. I doubled all the ingredients, used apple butter instead of the oil, and used 1 1/2 cups of skim milk and 1/2 c light sour cream. At the end, I tasted the batter and felt that it wasn't sweet enough to balance out all the baking powder, etc, so I added another few tablespoons of apple butter and it was great. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This bread is delicious!However, I did make the following substitutions: I used the one 1 1/2 tbsp of honey but added and extra third cup and decreaded the milk by 1/3 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and 1 cup of cranberries and 1/4 cup of chopped apple,YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I don't think I'll make this recipe again, it was kind of bland. Also, the dough was so wet I had to put it in a loaf pan, it definitely wouldn't stay in shape to put on a baking sheet as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was very small and crumbly - not appropriate for toast, but it was very tasty warm with butter and jam. I may double the recipe and try baking it in a loaf pan next time. The oats provide a great taste. I can't comment on how well this bread keeps because we finished it off in less than 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States