Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Excellent! I had to use unbleached flour instead of whole wheat (didn't have any) and it came out great anyway! I served it with homemade chicken soup and my guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy Moley this is GOOD! I love that it's fast and knead-free. This is indeed a dense loaf, but it's perfect for sandwiches or with a smear of jam/honey. I used mainly white all purpose (bc I was low on wheat), used whole uncooked oats, substituted the honey with vanilla yogurt, doubled the recipe, and added about an extra cup of flour to get it the right loaf-like consistency to turn out on a baking stone. I'm making two loafs again tonight to last the coming week. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
WOW. I did not expect this bread to be so amazing! I compared other people's reviews and made a few changes and oh boy, this is good! I added one egg to the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan at 350F for 40 minutes. wow. I can't believe something so delightful can come out of a recipe with so little oil!! i love it so much! I can't wait to share it with other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a great versatile recipe! I doubled the recipe, didn't grind the oats, added 1/2 cup of ground flax meal, 1/2 of chopped pecans, 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, 2 tsp of cinnamon, substituted EVOO for vegetable oil, and substituted with vanilla soy milk as well. Baked a dozen muffins at 375 degrees for 20 minutes (until toothpick was clean). They have a great crusty muffin top and a delicious taste. Fantastic breakfast or snack muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Really quick and easy. I used quick oats and left them whole. Also,I added a dash of cinnamon and used sour milk in place of regular milk. I cooked this in my 10.5 inch cast iron skillet and it only needed 15 minutes to get done.Smells and tastes wonderful as is, or slather with butter for a real treat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I soured my milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice. Instead of baking this on a oiled baking sheet, I baked this in a greased loaf pan. Right before baking, I drizzled a couple tablespoons of melted butter over the dough in the pan. GREAT breakfast bread. I made a strawberry cream cheese spread to schmear over it--the family flipped for it. I bet this would make an EXCELLENT beer bread using beer in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I used sour cream instead of oil. Turned out okay. I put it in a loaf pan and had to bake for 30min not 20 and i love the taste of it. Recommend adding more salt. Very dense!! But considering the quickness & easy ingredients....its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyAngel101

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is my go to recipe for fresh healthy bread. I use molasses instead of honey. And as others have said, this is a great recipe to add things too. The batch I made tonight included golden raisins and cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and green cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This has become the only bread we have in the house. My mom and I have been using it as a dieting bread. It's only 2 weight watchers points and it's so hearty that after we eat it, we're full all day. It's incredible. Last time I made it I altered the recipe by adding a table spoon of canned pumpkin and a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the dough and an additional teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to the top for added flavor and it was exceptional. This isthe perfect low fat quick break and it's easily customized. 10 stars across the board! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I doubled this recipe and used 1 1/2 cups wheat flour, 1/2c wheat bran, 1/2 c wheat germ, 1 1/2c rolled oats(I didn't grind them) 1/2c finely chopped walnuts and used about a 1/4c of homemade applesauce that I had to use up instead of the oil. I baked them at 425 in a muffin pan because I made it before in a loaf pan and the middle was raw. These are healthy with a great crust and a nice soft middle thats not too dense. My favorite whole wheat recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States