Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was surprised by how good this was. The first batch, I followed nearly exactly. The only change I made was using butter instead of vegetable oil (and I didn't grind the oats). Second time, I used water instead of milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It was certainly edible, but not quite as good. Last batch I went back to butter, and still used water instead of milk (I rarely drink it, so I'd have to buy it just for the bread). This was just about right. I'm a lazy cook. I love making food from scratch, but hate kneading and rising bread. This stuff is so easy, just mix it up and throw it on a cookie sheet and voila. It doesn't rise much, but doesn't seem super dense. It is soft and moist. I eat it plain, with butter only, butter and jam, or with soups, spaghetti, meatloaf, whatever. Mine takes 25 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It is a simple and fast recipe. I doubled the recipe, didn't grind the oats, added 2 teaspoons of flax seed, substituted soy milk for milk, added 1 teaspoon of baking soda and baked in 350F for 1 hour as suggested by some viewer. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I found this recipe the day before yesterday and I have already made it THREE DAYS IN A ROW!!! :) It is so good with a warm soup! I did make some changes to the recipe... I did not have any oatmeal on the shelf so I just used 2 cups of whole wheat flour. I also substituted buttermilk for milk, as the buttermilk is thicker and so the batter will not be as runny. The bread turned out wonderful this way! On one loaf, I did one what reviewer suggested and that was to add a little bit of baking soda to the batter.... This made the bread a little less dense. But it was great without the added baking soda, too! The wonderful thing about this bread is that it is VERSATILE! I added shredded cheddar cheese and garlic to one batch. One batch I sprinkled Italian seasoning on top. It is wonderful. Definitely has already become a staple at my house. Thank you Zoe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written but it just didn't come out well. Very bland and wouldn't hold together at all after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is delicious! As a college student who is trying to save money and live a healthy lifestyle, I decided I would try to make my own bread. I am glad I came across this recipe because it was super easy. I substituted oil for applesauce and honey for 1 tbs. of brown sugar and used 1 cup of skim milk. I baked this in a loaf pan and realized that I should have doubled the recipe..oh well :) Came out moist and wonderful. Very happy to find a healthy quick break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was simple, fast, and delicious! It has a lot of whole grain flavor. I made mine in a round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Excellent! I had to use unbleached flour instead of whole wheat (didn't have any) and it came out great anyway! I served it with homemade chicken soup and my guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy Moley this is GOOD! I love that it's fast and knead-free. This is indeed a dense loaf, but it's perfect for sandwiches or with a smear of jam/honey. I used mainly white all purpose (bc I was low on wheat), used whole uncooked oats, substituted the honey with vanilla yogurt, doubled the recipe, and added about an extra cup of flour to get it the right loaf-like consistency to turn out on a baking stone. I'm making two loafs again tonight to last the coming week. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
WOW. I did not expect this bread to be so amazing! I compared other people's reviews and made a few changes and oh boy, this is good! I added one egg to the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan at 350F for 40 minutes. wow. I can't believe something so delightful can come out of a recipe with so little oil!! i love it so much! I can't wait to share it with other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a great versatile recipe! I doubled the recipe, didn't grind the oats, added 1/2 cup of ground flax meal, 1/2 of chopped pecans, 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, 2 tsp of cinnamon, substituted EVOO for vegetable oil, and substituted with vanilla soy milk as well. Baked a dozen muffins at 375 degrees for 20 minutes (until toothpick was clean). They have a great crusty muffin top and a delicious taste. Fantastic breakfast or snack muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States