Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This bread was moist with just the right amount of sweetness, delicious by itself warm, with honey or jam! I had a little trouble stirring the milk into the oil and honey, but the bread turned out fine regardless! I baked it at 350 like the others, but mind only took about 40-45 minutes. The easiest bread ever, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I doubled the recipe as garnered from the reviews that I read. However, I did make a few changes myself, I used old fashioned oats, 3 TBLS unsweetened applesauce, 1 TBLS cinnamon, 1 TBLS pure vanilla extract, replaced the milk with non dairy coconut milk and a 1/2 cup chopped pecans. As I was mixing the dough I noticed that it was stiff compared to the reviews, but I think that is could be attributed to grinding the oats, as well as the type of oats that I used. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BertsMert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I didn't grind the oatmeal as the recipe said. And I didn't cook it quite long enough it was doughy. I will try it again and grind the oatmeal first. It had good flavor though and we still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Quick and easy but very bland and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I love this bread ... I used coconut oil and coconut milk which may have made it took sticky because I had to add more flour to get it to form ... I did attempt to loaf it and it was definitely too small ... I also had too much good in the middle ... But the pieces that turned out were yummy and I can adjust this to work using my ingredients! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this recipe 2 times. First time I made it exactly as the recipe was (except I added a bit more flour once everything was combined to thicken it up like bread dough should be). It was good, but its wheat bread so a bit bland. Second time around, I added some Penzey's Baking spice and vanilla, but I did not add the extra flour at the end. It turned out really good except its a bit crumbly, so next time I will add the extra flour at the end to make it a bit more doughy, and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I agree with other posters, the bread is very dense, but also very good. I used agave instead of honey and did not grind up the oatmeal. Easy, quick and delicious, freezes great too...one suggestion, unless you want a really small loaf I would suggest doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
As is I think this recipe is worth four stars, it is very good. When you add about two teaspoons of vanilla and a liberal sprinkle of cinnamon to the batter it is worth five stars. I enjoy it plain or with honey, the family likes it plain or with vanilla raspberry jam. This is super easy to make, from getting out the bowl to slicing in to the bread takes only 22 minutes and tastes wonderful--we make this all the time and will continue to. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I am diabetic and have a weakness for bread. White flour and sugar spikes the readings also yeast and I well have history so I stick to WW bread but had run out and was craving for bread. Googled WW bread and found this one. within 10 mins this was in the oven and 20 mins later, home smelling great, a pretty little loaf with coffee - it was scrumptious and I finished it in 4 days. Did wonders to my glucose readings too! Will definitely make it again and again and again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I was surprised by how good this was. The first batch, I followed nearly exactly. The only change I made was using butter instead of vegetable oil (and I didn't grind the oats). Second time, I used water instead of milk, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It was certainly edible, but not quite as good. Last batch I went back to butter, and still used water instead of milk (I rarely drink it, so I'd have to buy it just for the bread). This was just about right. I'm a lazy cook. I love making food from scratch, but hate kneading and rising bread. This stuff is so easy, just mix it up and throw it on a cookie sheet and voila. It doesn't rise much, but doesn't seem super dense. It is soft and moist. I eat it plain, with butter only, butter and jam, or with soups, spaghetti, meatloaf, whatever. Mine takes 25 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States