Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Really dry, not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I doubled the recipe, added 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp vanilla, raisins, pecans and baked it in a loaf pan. The whole house smelled heavenly. And it was a looker! But it was pretty bland. I'm baking another tonight but will add 3/4 cup splenda. I'll let you know how it turns out. ( ps baked 350 for 1hr).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I really loved this bread. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. It's very easy to make (which adds to the 5 stars). I followed the recipe exactly. The dough was VERY wet after mixing, which really threw me off because there was no way it would hold any shape that way. I let it sit a few minutes, accidentally, and that made it less wet and a little more voluminous and airy. I baked it according to directions in a ball shape (as much as it would hold), on a Silpat baking sheet. I love the taste of the bread out of the oven. After its been sitting a while, I personally prefer it toasted. It definitely tastes like oatmeal, and it is dense and crumbly--but that's to be expected from a quick bread. Next time I will try baking it in muffin cups like another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very tasty and easy. My changes: I doubled it, didn't grind the oatmeal, used a greased bread pan, and baked it at a lower temperature. It was very crumbly and didn't stay together so well, but the taste was excellent- definitely the perfect breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe and easily adapted to savory or sweet versions! I've always made this in a loaf pan or as muffins though. Made exactly to the recipe it is a great accompaniment to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
It's just okay. The texture is great and yes it's crunchy/crispy on the outside and moist and dense on the inside. But I think it is too salty or it's lacking something. I made two loaves; large and small. Added raisins to the small one and it's delicious! The large one is too bland but I'll have to wait and see after my family tries it. I doubled the recipe and added 4 TBS of wheat germ. 4 TBS of honey and instead of the oil, I used unsweetened applesauce. Like I said, the texture is great for bread. Maybe if I added some vanilla? Will return with comments after I try this recipe again later. I baked it at 350 for 55 minutes in the oven. Overall...I did not like it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I've made this bread "on the fly" many a weekend. We love the texture, and think it goes best with apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I didn't grind the oatmeal, doubled the recipe, used olive oil, and baked in a loaf pan at 350 for 45 minutes. It was quite delicious with butter or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great basic recipe! Super easy, dense and filling but so tasty! Like many other people, i doubled the recipe and baked at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
A great bread! This was my first try with bread and I picked this recipe because I love oat and whole wheat breads, it was fantastic! I followed the directions as written, but added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of almond extract. The smell was heavenly and the taste was even better. This will become a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States