Oatmeal Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Good as baked, but not outstanding. Definitely flattened out during the baking process! My family liked them, but have not requested them since... they probably won't make it into my "superb" collection even though they were tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Hmmm, does anyone find it strange that these cook at 300 degrees? Most cookies need to bake at 350 or so....and the directions say 10 to 18 minutes? That is a long range....Anyway, cooked first batch at 300 for 12 minutes, not long enough. Second batch at 300 for 14 minutes, cooled completely on baking sheet, much better. Third batch at 350 for 12 minutes and they were perfect! They don't spread as much at 350 and brown much better than at 300. Will make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Wow, these cookies are really good! I doubled the recipe because in our family, the first dozen is gone right off the bat and the original recipe said it made 2 to 3 dozen...not nearly enough for us. I used parchment paper like others said to do, and I could tell they would stick if you didn't. I scraped the melted toffee off the spatula after each batch because if I didn't, it would mess up the next batch of cookies. Also, even though I doubled the recipe, I only used an 8 oz bag of toffee bits and that seemed to be enough. I also added in a small amouth of dark chocolate chips. And, as another reviewer said, I added a small amount of butter flavored crisco in with real butter to make softer cookies. The flavor of these cookies is wonderful and I'll definitely be making these again! Thanks for such an awesome recipe, Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
These are AWESOME cookies. The pecans and toffee make them very chewy and they melt in your mouth. My toffee bits weren't chocolate covered like it says in the recipe, but they tasted excellent anywayz. Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These cookies are incredible! I did not have any pecans, so I substituted with 1/2 c. shredded sweetened coconut and I also put 1 cup toffee bits (instead of 2) and 1 cup butterscotch chips. I followed advice to bake at 350 for 10 minutes, and they were perfectly crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I will make them again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This is a soft and chewy cookie, hearty with oats and LOADED with the toffee bits and nuts. I wanted a little milk chocolate in these so I used an equivalent amount of chopped Heath Bars for the toffee bits and almonds for the pecans which, for me, was a better match. As I stirred it all in it seemed there was very little cookie batter and lots and lots of chopped up Heath Bars and nuts, but it worked. I'm sure baking these at 300 degrees works out just fine or the submitter wouldn't have directed to do so, but I was more comfortable baking them at 350 degrees and that worked out well for me. They're not overly sweet which, paired with the crushed toffee, worked out to be just right. They're not the prettiest cookie I've ever made as I like them to be symmetrical, but they sure do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. My grocery store didn't have toffee bits, so I bought some Heath bars and crunched them up - which was great because it added some chocolate. If I do find toffee bits next time, I will add chocolate chips. I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe is great, I think it is the best cookie I have ever tried! The toffee gets nice and chewy! I used toffee and chocolate baking bits instead of just toffee baking bits. It tastes great with a little chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I made these with toffee bits instead of heath bits. They were wonderful. Chewy with a little crunch from the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOU2U1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
these were very good. I used 1/2 c chopped milk choco chips. next time i will use 1c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States