Oatmeal Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by LOSTAZURE
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
These cookies were surprising. They taste like a mix of a cookie and a pecan brittle (though they do not have as many pecans). Definitely use the parchment paper. I did not have any the first time I made them and found out that no matter how well the pan is greased they stick badly because of all of the toffee. Not your every day cookie. Since I made them I have had several requests for another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I was a little let down by the appearance and texture of these cookies, as they spread out into flat pancakes and had a strange brittle texture to them. Their taste, however, was very good but very sweet. They weren't bad, but I was expecting something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
The ingredients made this recipe appealing to me, but I was let down by the end result: dry, flat texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
These cookies are delicious! I agree that maybe they aren't the best looking, but their taste more than makes up for their appearance. Just be careful to not overcook. I did this to a batch, and they ended up really tough and hard, instead of crispy on the outside and kind of chewy on the inside. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I thought this was very tasty, as did my family. I made a couple of changes, though. To make a more chewy cookie, I substituted two tablespoons of shortening for two tablespoons of butter. I also added 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa to the flour. I used one 8 ounce bag of toffee chips that were not coated, so I added 3 ounces of chopped bittersweet chocolate. I baked the first tray at 300 for about 18 minutes, but I was not satisfied with the amount of spreading, so I did as suggested by an earlier review, and increased the oven temperature to 350 and baked for 12 to 14 minutes, depending on the size. These are very much like a candy in flavor and texture as there is little flour. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I made these for a cookie exchange at work and drizzled melted chocolate over it to make it look better. I even got a request to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These are delicious. I also couldn't find the toffee baking bits so I used about five skor bars and crushed them up (should have used my food processor for that!). Has a nice crispy bottom and a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made these to bring to a 'Christmas cookie exchange' and they were great! I followed recipe exactly (baked about 15 minutes in my oven) and they turned out perfectly! Recipe doubles easily too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I doubled the batch for Christmas cookies to give away, and stupidly realized after I mixed the batter that I only had enough toffee for a single batch. I went ahead with half as much toffee and they came out pretty well. Not as much flavor, but half way through I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and it really brought out all the flavors. Drizzled with some milk chocolate to dress them up a bit, they should be lovely in my Christmas cookie mix. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Absolutely delicious and easy to make. My grocery store didn't have toffee bits, so I bought some Heath bars and crunched them up - which was great because it added some chocolate. If I do find toffee bits next time, I will add chocolate chips. I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States