Oatmeal Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were decent. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips which was a great addition. But this recipe has a little too much cinnamon for me. I think I would add 1/2 that much next time - because that's all I could taste practically. You also have to let these cookies cool on the pan for quite a bit longer than it states in the recipe, because they're very pliable and delicate cookies. I scraped off the excess from my metal spatula and sprayed the spatula with nonstick spray each batch to get them off of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These were very cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Instead of the toffee baking bits, I added 1 cup of chopped sugar coated peanuts & 1/4 cup of coconut, and 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips. Very good! But these cookies stay soft; I like the oatmeal crisps from this site much better. Maybe I'll try that recipe and add the chopped sugar coated peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARODUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These cookies are incredible! I did not have any pecans, so I substituted with 1/2 c. shredded sweetened coconut and I also put 1 cup toffee bits (instead of 2) and 1 cup butterscotch chips. I followed advice to bake at 350 for 10 minutes, and they were perfectly crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I will make them again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
A nice flexible recipe base. I added some leftover white chocolate chips and coconut....yum... My toffee bits didn't have chocolate. I also used toasted hazelnuts instead of pecans because that was all I had. I wasn't sure at first but everyone kept going back again and again and again, so I guess they turned out okay. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I seem to be in the minority on this but I was not impressed with these. I went back and forth on whether to make these, or the recipe listed on the Heath Toffee Bits bag. I opted for this recipe but was disappointed. The cookies are way too buttery - and not in a good "Meet the Buttertons" kind of way. It's just too much. Next time, I'll go for the recipe on the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were just awesome! I baked them at 350 for 12-13 minutes and they came out perfect, chewy and yummy. The only change I made was with the chocolate covered toffee bits. I had some leftover homemade pecan pralines that I wanted to use up so I chopped those up and added those instead of the toffee bits. I also probably used a few more pecans as I wanted to use of the rest of the bag. I'll have to remember to save any leftover candy for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made these using just one package of the Heath toffee bits (1 1/3 cups) and baked as others suggested at 350 for 14 minutes. They were still quite chewing and one of the best cookies I have ever had. Reducing the amount of toffee didn't detract from the flavor at all - in fact the cookies were still loaded with toffee flavor. I did bake the pecans before chopping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was a good cookie. Although I baked them at 375 for 12 minutes. They were nice and plump, not flat at all. They were hearty although I feel there is too much oatmeal in these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Rocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States