Oatmeal Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These cookies are incredible! I did not have any pecans, so I substituted with 1/2 c. shredded sweetened coconut and I also put 1 cup toffee bits (instead of 2) and 1 cup butterscotch chips. I followed advice to bake at 350 for 10 minutes, and they were perfectly crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. I will make them again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
A nice flexible recipe base. I added some leftover white chocolate chips and coconut....yum... My toffee bits didn't have chocolate. I also used toasted hazelnuts instead of pecans because that was all I had. I wasn't sure at first but everyone kept going back again and again and again, so I guess they turned out okay. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I seem to be in the minority on this but I was not impressed with these. I went back and forth on whether to make these, or the recipe listed on the Heath Toffee Bits bag. I opted for this recipe but was disappointed. The cookies are way too buttery - and not in a good "Meet the Buttertons" kind of way. It's just too much. Next time, I'll go for the recipe on the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were just awesome! I baked them at 350 for 12-13 minutes and they came out perfect, chewy and yummy. The only change I made was with the chocolate covered toffee bits. I had some leftover homemade pecan pralines that I wanted to use up so I chopped those up and added those instead of the toffee bits. I also probably used a few more pecans as I wanted to use of the rest of the bag. I'll have to remember to save any leftover candy for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made these using just one package of the Heath toffee bits (1 1/3 cups) and baked as others suggested at 350 for 14 minutes. They were still quite chewing and one of the best cookies I have ever had. Reducing the amount of toffee didn't detract from the flavor at all - in fact the cookies were still loaded with toffee flavor. I did bake the pecans before chopping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was a good cookie. Although I baked them at 375 for 12 minutes. They were nice and plump, not flat at all. They were hearty although I feel there is too much oatmeal in these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Rocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I enjoyed this cookie. The taste was great although I wish it were a little more chewy. I had to improvise because I ran out of oats so I substituted with a breakfast muesli mix that had oats, barley, flax and dates. It was good, but I like the original recipe better. I had cut back on the toffee as another reviewer suggested. I doubled the batch but used one bag of chocolate-covered toffee bits. It was perfect and if I'm not mistaken, my cookie was the first to run out at the cookie exchange. That always makes the baker feel like it was a job well done. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made these last night and they are really delicious. I don't know about everyone else, but the toffee cookies I've had were always flat and thin so they'd be crispy, yet chewy from the toffee. That's exactly what this was! I baked it at 300 for about 14-15 mins, which got it to spread out so it was nice and crispy. I didn't add pecans b/c I usually don't like nuts in my cookies, but I can imagine it would add a wonderful buttery taste to them. I'll add them next time. I also used irish oatmeal instead of rolled oats (it was an accident b/c I thought I had rolled oats), but I still liked them. They turned out extra nutty and crunchy, giving it a nice contrast to the chewy sweet toffee, but I don't think that texture is for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a few years-it is our favorite cookie recipe. I use one cup mini chocolate chips and one cup Heath Toffee Bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States