Oatmeal Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
These cookies just didn't do it for me. Followed the recipe to a tee, no changes. Had high hopes but they were an average cookie with no unique flavor. Sorry! I probably won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I did not use chocolate covered toffee bits, just regular ones, nor did I use pecans. I liked how chewy these were, but the tastes was a little bland (I guess chocolate covered would have been a better option?) for me. I was hoping for something like a thick oatmeal cookie that crisp on edges slightly undercooked in the middle, but these flatten out quite a bit and don't get the crisp outer shell. I HIGHLY recommend using parchment paper as the toffee bits will be tough to remove from your cookie sheet. I iced mine with some vanilla glaze to dress them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These were great! We didn't have any pecans, sadly, but they were so good regardless. We used just toffee chips - no chocolate on them- and they were fine. The cookies spread out a bit but it made them really nice with the toffee because they were gooey and crispy at the same time. We'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Great cookies - the perfect combination for toffee. I used 1/2 toffee bits & 1/2 dark chocolate chips. I made them very small, intending them to be bite-size for little ones. But they're better average size- for cooking time & not overdoing the toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
A new favorite! I make these cookies all the time now that my friends and family actually ask for them. Though I prefer solely the plain toffee bits/butter brickle, it was a pleasant surprise when I accidentally used "English Milk Chocolate Toffee" bits. Whether you use the plain toffee bits or the chocolate toffee bits; both toffee options make for fantastic cookies that everyone will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohcassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great flavor, but a bit more crumbly than chewy...was hoping for a bit more "toffee chewyness." Maybe the type of oats I used dried them out....will definitely try these again, maybe with a bit less oats or maybe more toffee? Loved the flavor of these though, so they are worth trying to tweak the recipe a bit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirlwonder

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Good as baked, but not outstanding. Definitely flattened out during the baking process! My family liked them, but have not requested them since... they probably won't make it into my "superb" collection even though they were tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are very simple to make, and were a unique addition to my holiday cookie gifts. I left out the pecans due to personal taste preferences (and co-worker allergies). They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These cookies were decent. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips which was a great addition. But this recipe has a little too much cinnamon for me. I think I would add 1/2 that much next time - because that's all I could taste practically. You also have to let these cookies cool on the pan for quite a bit longer than it states in the recipe, because they're very pliable and delicate cookies. I scraped off the excess from my metal spatula and sprayed the spatula with nonstick spray each batch to get them off of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These were very cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States