Oatmeal Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
These turned out great! After reading that a few of these leaked through the bottom, I made mine a bit bigger by rolling them into 3" balls then making a more shallow hole, rather than a deep thumbprint. I used cherry, blueberry, and strawberry jam for mine, and all three kinds worked really well. I also used all shortening (ran out of butter...) This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momyshaver
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I tweaked this a bit. My oatmeal cookies tend to turn out too thin so I used cake flour instead and I increased the amount by 1 cup or so. I also used milk rather than water, omited the nuts entirely since I have small children, and I also used rolled oats that I pulsed slightly in the food processor so that they were fuller than minute oats but not as big as rolled oats. I also used butter flavored shortening entirely rather than the mix of butter/shortening called for in the recipe...and strawberry jam because it was what we had an abundance of. They turned out great but I will probably use 1/2 cake flour and q/2 all purpose next time for a less cakey cookie but hopefully not too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momyshaver
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Not too crazy about this recipe. I too found the dough way too sticky and goopy to work with, Also, the cookies spread out way too thin and the jam oozed through the bottom. Maybe I did something wrong...maybe more oats or nuts next time, though it's unlikely I will make these again. Not worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Im not sure what I did wrong but my dough was sticky and thin. Could not make thumbprints. When cookies baked, the jam ran off and fell through bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Sorry, but I wasn't crazy about these. They turned out more "cake-like" than my taste prefers. I also had a hard time with the dough. It was so moist and sticky that I couldn't put a thumbprint in the middle. I let some of the dough sit in the fridge for a bit and that helped, but still wasn't easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I ended up with 76 cookies; baked them 7 1/2 minutes. They're very good. I omitted the nuts & tossed in an extra scant 1/2 cup of oats. Next time I'll try vanilla instead of almond extract. I would recommend letting the dough sit for 10 minutes or so before making your cookies. I found that the dough was easier to work with as I went along, because the oats were absorbing liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is an excellent cookie! I made it last Christmas for the first time and my husband insisted that I make them again this year. I use more jam than called for, but everything else I do as the recipe says. Only problem is I keep calling them "jum thambprints"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Everybody in my family loved these cookies. They were easy to make too. I got about 7 dozen cookies out of this recipe, needless to say, I needed more than the list 1/4 cup preserves. I will make these again (and again)and will try different types of preserves. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I love these cookies as did the rest of the house, I doubled the batch and added an extra egg and an extra cup af flower (I always find oatmeal cookies flat, this fluffed them up real-nice if thats the way you like them) butthank you rosina for the great base, my kids make all kinds of praise about these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Easy & delicious-- I used this recipe for a holiday "Cookie Party," and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States