Oatmeal Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These are easy to make. To avoid sticky dough just let it sit for 10 minutes before you drop them. It wasn't even as sticky as I thought it would be from reading reviews. I dropped one star because they just weren't oatmeal enough for me. They're delicious and everyone has loved them but I'm not too crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
made the several times with many different variations and they always disapeared fast. Wonderful little treat to make with your childrens and grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These cookies are drier and cakier than I would prefer. The flavor is like an oaty bread with jam and a hint of cinnamon--still yummy if you have a sweet tooth. My suggestion would be to decrease the flour and add butter. I tweaked the recipe using all shortening/no butter, more jam (thank goodness, it helped moisten it), vanilla extract instead almond, no nuts, and old-fashioned oats but I don't think those changes made it bready. Regardless, we still ate 'em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Everyone loved it, really moist as I substituted shortening for butter. Will definitely make this again. Super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these cookies by omitting almond extract and used vanilla, instead. As for taste, these cookies are AMAZING. However they are extremely difficult to make. To make the indent, I sprayed the end of a wooden spoon and used that. Again, difficult to get an indent deep enough to hold jam and shallow enough to not leak through during baking. They are also very cake-like in texture which makes them difficult to store. I waited until they cooled completely, and tried to place them in an airtight container. The cookies began to stick, break, etc. I eventually placed parchment between the layers in a 9x13 in pan and that seemed to work, but is not ideal for storage. I love the taste but probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe is one of my favorite cookies to make around the holidays. I do not alter the recipe, and I like to use blackberry and raspberry jam. So good. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojojam9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Carbon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The dough was really tasty! I used pecans in the middle instead of jam. My sister used the leftover dough to make an oatmeal bar with raisins and nuts and peanut butter in the middle of 2 layers of oatmeal cookie dough and that was great! A lot of ingredients but a really great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I would have given these three stars, however my family likes these, so I will go four stars. The oatmeal cookie part is very dry after baking, and the almond extract seems out of place in an oatmeal cookie. If I attempt these again, I will use vanilla extract instead of the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I had never made thumbprint cookies before. They were very easy and very good. My friend came over and we made a whole bunch of homemade Jam, and I wanted to use some in a fun way. What a great cookie with the jam. Thankyou so much. We are making apricot jam tomorrow and I will be making these cookies again to go along with that jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnkbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
The batter was not firm enough for thumbprints, although I made a few. It is a good recipe for a soft plain oatmeal cookie, however, if that's what you want. They spread nicely on the baking sheet. I only made half the recipe and had plenty of cookies--about 2 dozen. I also dropped the oven temp to 350 and baked for 10 minutes, as we like soft chewy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States