Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very nice! If you have an active starter, you do not need the yeast, just plan on a longer rising time. Also leave out the soda for a more pronounced sourdough taste. To use rolled oats, soak them in the warm water for 15 minutes before continuing with the rest of the recipe. I made them by hand. Beautiful! Yummy! The changes I made: Rolled oats, No yeast, No soda, EVOO instead of margerine (used only 1/4 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
My family and I really liked this recipe. I made half of it into rolls, and the rest into a loaf of bread. Making 12 rolls out of half of the dough made very small rolls. I would make larger rolls in future. The loaf was wonderful. Tasty and healthful. Mine had a dark but not too crisp crust, the inside was a nice even and soft texture. This will be my standard bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I'm so glad I found this recipe--the rolls are amazing. I used rolled oats that add a nice crunch to the crust, and I used all honey and butter. The sweetness and the slight tang of sourdough and the texture--wow, they are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast (I used one whole "packet" of active yeast) in the mixer bowl with the honey and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added the starter, molasses, egg, melted butter (which I used instead of margerine), then the dry ingredients. I did run my oats through my mini-processor before using it using the ice crushing feature so my oats would be a finer consistancy. This did need about 3/4 cup of flour more than what was asked for in the recipe. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes, then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in a greased muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another half hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. These rolls were really very good! The oats gave the rolls a nutty kind of flavor--which was just wonderful combined with the yeasty-sourness of the starter and the buttery-molasses-y flavor. These turned out really fluffy and soft and just......incredible! NOTE: I will say that I did not get 24 rolls out of this recipe, I got 12. That was fine for me because that was all I needed. For someone else who wants a recipe that make a larger quanitity, be sure to double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These were fabulous! I'm always looking for recipes to use with my sourdough starter. I sub'd 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of A/P flour as someone else suggested. They can also be made without a bread machine. I used my heavy duty stand mixer. The dough handled beautifully. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I made this into two loaves, rather than rolls. Subbed 1c of the flour with 1c white whole wheat flour, and 3T of flour with 3T vital wheat gluten. Used butter rather than margarine, and whole oats rather than the quick cooking kind. This had a dark brown crunchy crust and was light brown inside. I couldn't detect a sourdough flavor, but it tasted good. Thanks for the recipe, Sconner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
While I recommend using a "sourdough sponge" {if you don't know how just look it up on the web} to give some extra sourdough flavor I thought these were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I had a new Stand Mixer and some sourdough starter so thought this recipe would be good. It was GREAT. The rolls did not make it until the chicken was done though. Next time I will double the recipe. Soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Wonderful sourdough rolls. Only change I made was to sub 1 cup wheat flour for 1 cup of white flour to make it a little healthier. Will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This tastes great! Using rye sourdough starter, this gives whole grain goodness. I formed some dough into a bread pan, and some into a free formed loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States