Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have molasses so I substituted brown sugar but otherwise kept the recipe and I am so, so impressed. I'm always looking for more things to do with my starter and this will be a go-to for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These are yummy! Mine didn't rise much at first but plumped up nicely in the oven. I made these with my Kitchen Aid and I did need to add a lot more flour, about 3/4 cup, but after the first rise the dough was very easy to work with. I was a little disappointed that mine didn't brown, and the molasses gives the dough a slightly 'off' color. I also used about half the molasses because I think a little goes a long way. Will make again with a few changes. The sourdough flavor and the texture from the oatmeal is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Excellent, as my son said! Needed a bit more flour as I made them in my KA. To be repeated many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very nice. Light and fluffy. I cut the recipe in half, used 1/2 the amount of butter and put melted butter on top of rolls when taken out of the oven. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are yummy. I don't own a bread machine, and probably never will. I start with the water, honey, molasses and yeast, add egg and butter and then the rest of the ingredients. I'm guessing the dough cycle of the machine lets it rise once. I didn't and ended up with fluffy but small rolls. I'll give it another rise the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very good. I made it into rolls for the family and then liked it so much that I made another batch that I braided into a loaf and cooked for my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPEREDKERI2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I love this recipe. I don't have a bread machine. I made them the old fashion way - by hand!! The rolls had great flavor. I used one cup of wheat flour in place of one cup of the wheat flour. Next time I will definitely make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have made this recipe twice and we enjoyed them although I don't think they have a strong sour dough flavor. The first time I formed the rolls into two 8" round pans and found that they didn't cook as well in the center. I read through the feedback and altered the recipe the second time...decreasing the butter to just 1/4 cup, using all honey instead of both molasses and honey, and using 2 cups of bread flour 1 c of whole wheat bread flour. The second time I placed them in muffin tins and they were perfect! Will make them this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Since sourdough starters vary quite a bit in consistency, the exact amount of flour you need may vary from the recipe. My starter is quite thick, so the amount stated works for me. If your starter is thin, you'll need to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I began a sourdough starter about 5 days ago and wanted to try making something with it before it got too strong. I made these as rolls and they actually came out with a roll texture. Usually when I try to make rolls from a bread recipe, the rolls come out rather dense and bread-like in the middle. These were light and fluffy inside. I did have to use a bit more flour (about 1/2 cup) as it was making a very gooey lump in my breadmachine pan. I also cut the butter in half since it was still way more than I was used to using in bread recipes. I made about 15 larger rolls and we had turkey cutlet sandwiches for dinner tonight. I'll probably do a n egg wash over top next time to spiff up the crust a little. I baked for 12 minutes since my rolls were a little bigger, but 11 would probably have been perfect as a few of the rolls on the edges got a little brown on the bottoms. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States