Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour, and 2 cups white flour. Replaced 1/4 cup of butter with 1/4 cup yogurt. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
ehhh these were only so so. I think the other reviewers made me think it was going to be something special but it seemed like more effort than it was worth. They didn't rise very well and were very heavy for my tastes. I also made the San Francisco sour dough at the same time and it was fabulous. . .maybe that's why this scored so low?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These rolls were amazing--both in texture and in flavor! Two grown men and myself could not stop eating them when they came out fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Other than the sourdough starter I use a mix of whole wheat and soy flour when I make these and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
this is suppperrrrr supppperrr good, soooo soft. i don't have molasses so i change it to brown sugar and i change the all purpose flour to bread flour. and turn out soooooooo goood, the dough is soft but not sticky anymore after the 1st raising. the dough is very similar to Taiwanese dough that i make before. this is a good base dough. so soft and have a nice soft crust. i make 3 kinds from 1 recipe , 1 is plain, 1 topped with course salt and the last on i topped with sugar and sesame. all is very good. you can brush it with honey also after baking for the plain one to make it more sweeter and sticky on top. smells great i can taste the oat really well. up date : just bake it for second time using all purpose flour this time. the taste is not the same i think i should change it up to bread flour next time. it have better texture.the one with all purpose flour is a bit dry . because of this i down my rating from 5 star to 3 star only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We REALLY enjoyed these rolls. This dough is really versatile and can be used for more than just rolls. I have bread sticks from this dough in the oven right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this almost exactly as written, but I was looking for a loaf...the only variation I did was to leave it all in the bread machine through the entire bread cycle. Made a very delicious loaf of bread...just as written! Thanks for the recipe, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were awesome! I omitted the molasses and used butter instead of margarine but otherwise made as written. They are so soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
these rolls are amazing....i made them in the kitchenaid stand mixer, added all the ingredients with the dough hook. Had to add more flour as mentioned by the other reviewers when making in the stand mixer. Very simple, added to mixing bowl, set on low, added additional flour as needed, oiled mixer bowl, covered with plastic wrap allowed to rise for an hour or so, kneeded a few times, formed into rolls and placed on oiled baking sheet, covered with damp kitchen towel and allowed to rise for an additional hour and then baked according to directions! I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used old fashioned rolled oats which I soaked 15 minutes ahead and I used 1/4 C olive oil instead of the margarine (for a lactose-free version). I left out the baking soda as well. I don't have a bread maker so I let the dough rise an hour after kneading and before forming into rolls. The I let the rolls rise an additional hour before putting into the oven. The rolls were soft and fluffy with a very nice flavor. These freeze very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States